Internet security with most open ports

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by dnewhous, Jul 4, 2017.

  1. dnewhous

    dnewhous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    Niceville, FL
    Which home use antivirus, freeware, or shareware, and by home use I mean not Sophos enterprise, has the most open ports? In particular which leaves 3 open ports for Realplayer?
     
  2. guest

    guest Guest

    The problem is probably in your router
     
  3. Smiggy

    Smiggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    237
    Location:
    The Angel Isle
  4. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2,969
    @dnewhous

    umm, i really don't think that your av is the culprit here.look elsewhere like a misconfigured router or fw you know.
     
  5. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,391
    hardware firewalls are robust.

    Any one with a broadband modem/router already has one enabled by default.
     
  6. Smiggy

    Smiggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    237
    Location:
    The Angel Isle
    I know there was a spate of ISP's supplying routers with the SPI firewall disabled by default, Virgin Media here in UK were one such culprit.
     
  7. gorblimey

    gorblimey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Posts:
    157
    Location:
    West Oz
    "it ain't necessarily so..." (Gershwin Bros, Porgy & Bess)

    Routers supply NAT which acts an effective Stateless Firewall, but only some have SPI, see http://whirlpool.net.au/wiki/hw_feature_118.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.