Internet Explorer

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ritalaxman, Jan 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ritalaxman

    ritalaxman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    84
    Location:
    I live in Bangalore, South India
    Sometimes while searching the Net I use the back button to return to the original page and get the following message

    Warning : Page has Expired

    The page you requested was created using information you submitted in a form. This page is no longer available. As a security precaution, Internet Explorer (6) does not automatically resubmit your information for you. To resubmit your information and view this Web Page, click the refresh button.

    Could someone let me know why this happens and how it could be avoided.

    Rita
    [MOVE]:'( [/MOVE] [MOVE] :'( [/MOVE][MOVE] :'( [/MOVE]
     
  2. ~*Nat*~

    ~*Nat*~ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    8,129
    Location:
    Germany/Ohio-USA ~ between two worlds
    Hi ritalaxman,

    If you're on a website where "personal" information is being "stored" or submitted, and you click the Backbutton, it does as it says.
    As a security precaution, Internet Explorer does not store this kind of information.
    The only thing I think of to do is just to not "leave" this page if you plan on continuing.
    Or you would just have to enter everything you typed, again. I know..it's a pain.

    Have you ever noticed when on a "regular" Site...you can click back and forth, and everything is still the same, so to speak ?

    I hope I didn't forget something, but this is all I can think of at the moment.

    :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2005
  3. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    That's pretty much it.
    The cache is either never stored, or is deleted after a certain amount of time has passed.
    This ensures
    1. delivery of fresh content every time.... like mail inboxes
    2. security... no one can look into what was stored into your cache [out of your web mail]
    3. second layer of security.... after, say every 5 minutes, you are forced to suppply fresh credentials [like yahoo asking your password BEFORE it lets you even view your own account information]

    I hope I'm using the correct words here... head spinny... need tea.
     
  4. ritalaxman

    ritalaxman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    84
    Location:
    I live in Bangalore, South India
    Thanks Nat68 and No13. I reloaded IE6 and for the present there does not seem to be any problem. Shall get back if I have a problem.

    Bye. Should I be saying Good Night!

    Rita
     
  5. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    hey...
    it's not [repeat] NOT a bug or a problem..
    it's just there...
    and don't worry if it comes back... it's really not a good practice to go back and reload a page [security wise] :)
     
  6. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    Not suporting Microsoft again are you No13 :D As No13 said, the feature is there to protect you and is not a bug. People just think that automatically, because they know what microsoft can be like :D

    Jimbob
     
  7. ritalaxman

    ritalaxman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    84
    Location:
    I live in Bangalore, South India
    Thanks everybody. Noted your advice.

    Rita
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.