Internet Explorer 9

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by bamaman66, Apr 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bamaman66

    bamaman66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Posts:
    366
    Has anyone had problems installing Internet Explorer 9 on a pc with 64 bit windows? My installation goes over about 10 % and hangs.
     
  2. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    Vista64 Ultimate here, downloaded through Windows update without any problems. Have you checked your security whether it is interfering(I had to authorize the connection with my firewall)?
     
  3. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    64 bit Win7 and not a problem.:D
     
  4. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    No, the installation went remarkably smoothly.
     
  5. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    Mine installed ok. When you go to install 64 bit IE9, it apparently also downloads and installs 32 bit. Are you connected to the web when installing?
     
  6. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  7. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    No problems on Windows 7 Pro 64-bit.
     
  8. Steve17

    Steve17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    Yes indeed, on a Win7 home premium 64 bit. The computer would hang during "closing programs" with the progress bar one tenth of the way. If I specified "ignore running programs" it would go 1/4 of the way while "installing". Either way I had to do a forced shutdown.

    If I disabled NOD32, the installation would get to, or near, completion, and didn't hang. But then it had a problem with ieframe.dll. And when I clicked the start button, a window popped up that said "can't find msls.dll". What the hell! It then restores IE8. I haven't been able to complete the install yet.

    This 64 bit installation is about as plain vanilla as you can get. I built it for my sister and all she does is enter her Weight Watcher's points.

    I have a 32 bit Win7 installation on that machine, for testing, that installed IE9 perfectly.

    I have two Win7 machines myself, running 64 bit pro, and IE9 installed easily. Her machine has a later version of Nod32 than I have. Maybe that could explain something.
     
  9. Steve17

    Steve17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    I found my problem. It was the star-crossed NOD32 version 4.2.58.3. I replaced that with the current version and every thing is A-OK.
     
  10. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    No trouble installing, but its a buggger some times waiting for the navigation to take me to the page i want, its bloody dreadfully slow! :ninja:
     
  11. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I just downloaded IE9 on my new computer. I find IE9 on WIN7 x64 painfully minimalistic. I can't find anything, not even Help or menu. Is there a keystroke to bring up more toolbars?
     
  12. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    on 32 bits the installer gave me plenty of grief.
    i would expect something better from Microsoft. :thumbd:

    the only thing that seem to work for me was to download the full install version first , then disabling UAC for the install.
     
  13. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    Click the cogwheel or press alt+F.

    Look into updating your video drivers. If they are too old or incompatible hardware acceleration will turn itself off.
     
  14. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,291
    Location:
    England
    Right-click on the home, star, or cog icons on right hand side at top of page and select which toolbar you want to show.
     
  15. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks I'll try it. :)
    OK that was it! I'm good to go.
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2011
  16. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    No issues at all on a Win 7 Ultimate x64 pc.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.