Internet Explorer 11 for Windows 7 available

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by siljaline, Nov 7, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  2. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Bit of a surprise, but good news for Windows 7 users!
     
  3. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    From what I have read IE 11 is problematical on Win 7. I think I will wait until it is pushed in an update. I never really use IE anyway.
     
  4. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,283
    I tried an installation and it failed. No obvious reason, no error messages. A link appeared to an MS document, "Troubleshooting of a failed installation of IE 11". I found nothing relevant in it.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2013
  5. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks siljaline. I've downloaded the web installer and installed IE11. Was smooth transition and is working perfectly well. :)
     
  6. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,127
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, smooth install, and seems to be working OK - I'll need to use it for a bit. I'm seeing a setting to enable TLS 1.2 in the advanced section. Was that setting already available in v10?
     
  7. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    It was available in IE10, but It wasn't enabled by default. With IE11 it is now enabled by default (or should have been).

     
  8. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ie/dn394063(v=vs.85).aspx#unsupported_features

    Yes, in v8 already afaik.
     
  9. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Mary Jo Foley's notes say:
    Can anyone that's taken the dive confirm this ?
     
  10. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Some info: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ie/dn265025(v=vs.85).aspx
    http://blogs.msdn.com/b/ieinternals/archive/2013/09/24/10451776.aspx
    Mine updated via Windows Update, having had the preview, but unfortunately I don't use IE very much at present.
     
  11. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Updated, will reboot later.
     
  12. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    been using ie11 for a while now. just updated to the official version also.
     
  13. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    EPM appears to be supported assuming one had EPM enabled at the time of the upgrade (screenshot will illustrate).

    For those that did not have EPM enabled it would be interesting in knowing if you are able to enable Enhanced Protected Mode if it was not at the time of your upgrade.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  15. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Protected Mode is NOT Enhanced Protected Mode.

    The option may be available in the advanced options for IE on Windows 7 but it is not the same as EPM on Windows 8.
     
  16. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  17. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    In addition to funkydude post.

    "Tabs running in Enhanced Protected Mode on Windows 8 run inside an AppContainer. On Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2, AppContainer does not exist, so EPM only enables 64bit tabs on a 64bit OS. (That also means that enabling EPM on a 32bit Windows 7 system doesn’t do anything, because a 32bit Windows 7 system supports neither 64bit nor AppContainer)."
     
  18. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    Installed fine over here. Enhanced Protection Mode is still available as an option(Advanced Settings -> Security).
    In addition to Phant0m post: EPM is not even available to enable on 32 bit Win7.

    About IE10's EPM:
    http://blogs.msdn.com/b/ieinternals...rk-security-addons-cookies-metro-desktop.aspx
    I haven't found big differences yet between IE11 and IE10 EPM, only that with IE11 it's enabled by default(at least on Win8, not sure about 7.)
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2013
  19. Wroll

    Wroll Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    Italy
    Do you still need to restart your computer after install?
     
  20. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    Yes, probably because it needs to install updates during installation.
     
  21. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Yes - not doing so will not apply the upgrade.

     
  22. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,127
    Location:
    USA
  23. niki

    niki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Will Easy List and Easy Privacy TPLs work on IE11? If it's not I won't upgrade to IE11 although I hardly use IE10.
     
  24. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    TPLs still working and updating with IE11. In-fact just checking the IE11 updated off the TPL server earlier today.
     
  25. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    Thanks, the upgrade seems to have reset more settings btw so I advise that people go over their settings and change them if needed.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2013
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.