internet disconnect switch

Discussion in 'hardware' started by Shankle, Aug 15, 2016.

  1. Shankle

    Shankle Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    510
    I posted this question on the Masm32 forum but not getting any answers.
    I don't know where to post it on this forum so I hope this is ok.
    Thanks for any help/
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,270
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Look at your router. Many have a simple on/off switch and/or an Internet on/off switch.
     
  3. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,699
    Location:
    Texas
    I remember long ago I had an internet kill switch, mfg BFG, I did not find it useful
     
  4. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,270
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    I don't really see a useful purpose for it since you can control access via most routers.
     
  5. phenixj

    phenixj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Dunnellon fla
    My router does NOT have a disconnect switch.
    I use the disconnect switch constantly.
    I need to find another company that makes a Ethernet disconnect switch
     
  6. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,270
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    @phenizj - Who are you? If not the OP, you need to start your own thread.

    And this does not make sense:
     
  7. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    516
    Location:
    United States
    ipconfig /release

    As good as a disconnect switch. You could make a batch file on your desktop to enable/disable if you want to make it slightly easier. If you want something between your modem and router, you could just wire in a standard light switch, rocker switch, etc, to the ethernet cable. I'm not sure what pin off hand you'd need to connect to block signal properly, but it's easy to do. You could even leave the wires bare and jump them when you want internet. lol. It's essentially how you make a lag switch :isay:
     
  8. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,270
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Easiest might be to the router's power cable - only two wires and it does not matter which one you splice into. Or get an outlet power switch like this.
     
  9. Shankle

    Shankle Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    510
    I don't know how the phenixj came about but it was my message.
    I don't want to shut off the electricity to the computer just disconnect
    the internet at will. I'm not electronically orientated so I need to buy
    one from some company other than "justhitthebutton". Shankle
     
  10. TheWindBringeth

    TheWindBringeth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Posts:
    2,084
    Although such a device is useful, there probably aren't many buyers and by extension sources/alternatives. Search Amazon for the words INTERNET KILL SWITCH and look through the search results as well as the "customers who viewed this also viewed" items. Also read reviews. Look for simple on/off switches as well as 2-way/2-port/AB type switches. The latter would typically be used to switch between two networks but could be used as an on/off.
     
  11. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,270
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    No one suggested killing power to the computer. As noted above, you could shut power to the router with power switch for the router like I noted above.

    It might be easier for us to suggest a better option if you told us what it is you really want to accomplish here.

    Is this a secret switch so other users of your computer don't know what is happening?
    Is this a secret switch so others on your network don't know what is happening?
    Are you trying to block everyone on your network, or just one computer?
    Are you trying to block users of your network gaining Internet access out, or bad guys getting access in?

    Or is this just something for your computer so you can block out distractions from the Internet? If this, check out InternetOff. And if you are trying to do this for parental control, you can also set a password to unlock it or set a schedule to allow/block access. And it's free.
     
  12. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    516
    Location:
    United States
    Type 'ipconfig /release' into a command prompt to disable.
    Type 'ipconfig /renew' into a command prompt to re-enable.
     
  13. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,058
    Thnx. I never used those switches but I see how this could be useful. They can also be put in bat file and desktop shortcut can be created for convenience.
     
  14. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    I just disconnect the cable going to my router from my modem at the modem end, the cable comes in to the house goes directly into the modem so the ISP sees my modem as being online but no signal from the computer can go into my computer or goes out.
     
  15. Shankle

    Shankle Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    510
    Sure it can be done that way. But eventually the router connection will
    wear out. Check out the "justhitthebutton" web site. It will give you more
    information. I don't recommend them as I had trouble getting my 2nd
    disconnect switch from them. Consequently this thread for more choices.
     
  16. syrinx

    syrinx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    334
    I don't use it this way but I do have some entries I use in scripts at logon/logoff that could be saved as separate bats and just double clicked to change the NIC state.

    Connect
    wmic path win32_networkadapter where NetConnectionID="NAME" call enable

    Disconnect
    wmic path win32_networkadapter where NetConnectionID="NAME" call disable

    Replace 'NAME' with whatever the name of your network is in Control Panel\Network and Internet\Network Connections
    This will enable or disable the NIC and you can verify this using device manager. Similar in effect to the ipconfig commands except that it disables the actual hardware device on your PC.
     
  17. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,558
    The easiest way is to disable/enable the network adapter. Just go to ->Control Panel ->Network and Internet->Network Connections-> select your network adapter with right click of the mouse and click disable. You can also create a shortcut of the adapter on the desktop and right click on the shortcut for enabling/disabling the connection.

    Panagiotis
     
  18. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,270
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    I refer all back to my questions in post #11 as to why do you need this switch? Knowing that will help us help you find the best solution. We still don't even know if this switch is to block all users on this network, or just access with one computer.
     
  19. Shankle

    Shankle Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    510
    With this hardware switch I am COMPLETELY cut off from the
    dangerous internet. I am a programmer and don't have any faith
    in software solutions cutting off the internet. I only want to be on
    the internet when I want to be on the internet.
    I am not interested feeding Microsoft or any data collection agency.
    What's on my computer is my business and NO one elses ......
    Check out 'justhitthebutton' for better details on the switch.
     
  20. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,270
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    o_O

    Not sure what to say about that, but okay. And in that case, I say forget about any mechanical switch. Switches can break too. I say just position your router or Ethernet switch near where you sit and disconnect your Ethernet cable when you don't want any Internet access. These cables are very inexpensive of you wear it out, you can replace it for pennies. If you wear out the port on the router, just move to a different port.
     
  21. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    516
    Location:
    United States
    Have you heard of linux? :isay:
     
  22. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,270
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    I think it funny what people are paranoid about. Even at its worse, Microsoft is NOT trying to steal your passwords, full name, birth date, street address, bank account and credit card information, Social Security Numbers, personal contacts, or read your emails. Nor is it trying to overwrite security certifications or redirect you to malicious sites, or take control of your computer to send spam or distribute malware.

    So many just don't understand the difference between security and privacy. These same people have no problems with their cell phones. With your PC, does not know your real name or where you live. In fact, the closest Microsoft knows where you are is your ISP's POP (point of presence). That is, where your ISP connects your computer to the Internet. In my case, that is 10 miles away in the next town over.

    With a cell phone, your carrier knows exactly where you are standing to within a few meters. They know the store, the aisle and even products in the aisle you are standing in front of. They know where you've been, how long you were there, the direction you are heading now and how fast you are moving. They know who you have talked to and texted. What's more, your cell carrier knows your home address, your real and full name, birthdate, and your billing information too. Frankly, Microsoft is the least of your worries.
     
  23. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,058
  24. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    142
    Are you talking about disconnecting before the modem or after? Then maybe a software for after the modem/router (just computer);
    Internet Off, http://crystalrich.com/internetoff/
    Otherwise just unplug the cable.
    Excuse me if your talking hardware.
     
  25. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Hardware_Switch.png

    Easy peasy just buy a Lenovo or older IBM ThinkPad with a Hardware WiFi switch.
     
Loading...