"Internal error: unhandled exception"

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by MartinH, May 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MartinH

    MartinH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    103
    Hello,

    I always make images of the whole disc because I want to have the mbr in the image.
    That is why the hidden diagnostics partition of my DELL is included in the image.
    Sometimes when I start to make an incremental of thw whole disc, it shows me an "Internal error: unhandled exception" and the process is stopped.
    In the list of events it says (directly translated from German):
    "Action with the partition '0-6' was terminated with the error code 1 'Internal error: unhandled exception'"

    (TrueImage calls the hidden DELL partition "0-6" ; it has no drive letter)

    I had this sometimes, but when I restart the process of making an incremental of the whole disc then it mostly works.
    With full images I hadn't have this error yet.
    But I only make full images once a month.

    Here are the information TrueImage gives about this partition:

    partition: FAT16
    Flags: Pri
    Capacity: 62,72 MB
    Used: 6,79 MB
    Type: "DS: FAT16 Partition: 0xde (EISA configuration)"

    Thanks for help!
     
  2. MartinH

    MartinH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    103
    Oh, I must correct myself.

    The DELL partition is called 1-1, so it isn't this.

    No partition is called "0-6", I saw that when it was locking the partitions (it shows 1-1, 1-6, etc. but no 0-6)

    Is 0-6 the mbr?
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Martin,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Accroding to your description partition 0-6 is DELL hidden service partition (so-called EISA configuration). MBR is not included into partition, it resides the beginning of the disk and cannot be moved.

    As for the problem, please make sure you use the latest (826) build, which is available on our web site at http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/. To get access to updates you should register your software first at http://www.acronis.com/my/products/registration/. Please disable any download managers, internet download/connection boosters, etc. before the download.

    If the problem persists with the latest build please do the following:
    - Navigate to Start -> Run;
    - Type in "drwtsn32";
    - Remember the log file path and the crash dump path;
    - Start Acronis True Image and create a new task using Schedule Task wizard, but do not schedule it (on the Start Parameters page choose "Do not start automatically"). Set the name of the new task to "Test Task".
    - Download the following file from www.acronis.com:

    http://www.acronis.com/files/support/TrueImage8.0_dbg_s_en.zip
    http://www.acronis.com/files/support/dbgdlls.zip

    - Unpack the files into the \Program Files\Acronis\TrueImage folder.
    - Open the \Documents and Settings\[User]\Application Data\Acronis\TrueImage\Scripts\ folder and find the script file with the following parameter inside: display name="Test Task".
    - Copy the script file to the \Program Files\Acronis\TrueImage folder.
    - Start Command Prompt from Start\Accessories program menu.
    - Type the following commands in the shell window:

    cd \Program Files\Acronis\TrueImage
    ti_demon /script: [script name] > ti.log 2>&1

    - Reproduce the problem;
    - Send Dr. Watson's log and dump files from the afore-mentioned paths to support@acronis.com along with the link to this thread.
    - Also please send us the ti.log file from the \Program Files\Acronis\TrueImage folder.

    This will allow us to investigate the problem.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  4. MartinH

    MartinH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    103
    It's nearly impossible to reproduce the problem because most of time it works normally.
    I have the build 826.

    I have made this ti.log with ti-demon, but there was no error, so I cancelled the process. (If this error appears, it comes immediately after starting the process)

    Nevertheless there were some errors listed in ti.log.
    Maybe these errors cause stopping the process only sometimes?

    But in ti.log there isn't said something about a partition "0-6" !
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello MartinH,

    TrueImageDemon is used to create image archives. The demon output version provides the output of Acronis True Image demon which one can either see on the display or save into a file (e.g. ti.log). We are in need of this information to investigate your problems. Please contact us if the problem appears.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  6. MartinH

    MartinH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    103
    Ok I will do so.

    I have a question:
    Are the images created with the TI interface the same like created with the command line about ti demon ?
    If it is so, then I will make my images with Tidemon for the next time.
    Can I also use TI Demon with a task that isn't called "Test Task" ?

    Then I have everytime a ti.log and if the error comes back, I will send this file and the others to you.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Martin,

    You are right, the images created with the Demon are ok. You may call the task in the way you wish but then you will need to pick up the right script name.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.