Internal Error 123 and no Boot

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by WilliamP, Jul 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,208
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I am having a problem. When I create a snapshot I get errors. It has had a pop up saying Internal Error 123. How can I determine what is causing the error? When I View log it just shows that there was errors. How do I dig deeper?
     
  2. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    10,727
    Location:
    UK
    When you view the log have you clicked on the blue plus sign?

    Takes great patience to scroll and find the errors.

    Is this a first snapshot of a newly installed First Defence?
     
  3. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,208
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I have tried several snapshots.
     
  4. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,208
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Thank you for the help. I was clicking on the wrong thing. I have problems [DCF Backup write access denied],Replacing [Windows\system32\drivers\cmdmon.sys ]and Replacing Windows\system32\ drivers\inspect .sys. Both drivers are Comodo Firewall but I don't have a clue to DCF.
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2007
  5. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,208
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I did some further searching and went into Comodo and told it to not protect itself. FDISR works like a champ now. I do love that program.:thumb: :D
     
  6. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,205
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    It's often an issue with any apps that have 'termination protection' enabled
    Typically security type apps.
    In a strange way it's nice to see that those utilities are doing their job, but creates irritation for snapshot creation and copy/update.

    Disable the tools giving a problem for new snap creation and copy/update then re enable protection while working in that or other snaps.

    Raxco support has been back on line recently: :) : set up a support ticket; they may be able to create a newer copy engine with the developers as these issues arise with various utilities.

    Similar issues with PG ( strong termination protection as we know)and CyberHawk.

    Btw: was there ever a version of Fdisr copy engine that did eventually work with PG??

    There was this older thread re PG
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/archive/index.php/t-141069.html
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.