Intel Rapid Storage Technology

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ellison64, Jul 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Just updated some drivers on the laptop ,and i now have the intel rapid storage technology starting up with windows.I can disable it ,but don't really know what it is or what it does.I have tried to read the help file ,but gave up on how useful it is for me.I dont see any options in it other to activate a port led ,whatever that is?Anyone know in simple terms how useful this is?.I don't know whether to just leave it as it is or disable it from starting up at windows boot.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ABee

    ABee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    330
    An LED is a light. Activating it means you'll (maybe) have a new light showing up on the physical computer.

    The Intel Rapid Storage Technology seems to be for RAID usage-- multiple hard drives.
    Since it appears your laptop has only one hard drive, RAID wouldn't be in play, so therefore you can likely disable the Intel Rapid Storage Technology without any ill effect.

    On the other hand, leaving it enabled probably isn't doing any harm, either.
    And if you do have more than one hard drive, or a 'recovery drive' which may at some point need accessing, then it seems leaving it enabled would be the thing to do.

    Links:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_Rapid_Storage_Technology

    http://www.intel.com/support/chipsets/imsm/sb/CS-026142.htm

    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...e-is-not/7a269721-f4af-40de-b4d4-e72c5db9e988

    http://www.sevenforums.com/drivers/60604-intel-rapid-storage-technology.html
     
  3. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    I have that running, and I don't have raid any more. I use it for my SSD drive, as it is one of the drivers/tools that I gather you should use with an intel chip and/or SSD drive.

    If I did not have an SSD drive nor used RAID, I would not install it. Matter of fact, I did not install it when I used raid either.

    HTH>

    Sul.
     
  4. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Thanks for the info guys.I ve plugged a usb backup drive into the laptop ,but that doesn't show up,in the interface so i guess it wouldn't be that much use.Ill leave it installed and just disable the startup.
    ellison
     
  5. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    I have raid and have this running pretty much for the fact that it monitors the drives and informs me of any impending doom!
     
  6. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    I would leave it running even if you have only one drive in your system. It is supposed to improve performance on systems that have intel chipset with AHCI controller.

    See here

     
  7. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Thanks for the extra information :thumb:
    ellison
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.