Instead of Proxomitron?

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by Q Section, Nov 20, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Q Section

Q Section Registered Member

Headquarters - London & Field Offices -Worldwide
    Greetings Everyone

The Proxomitron site now says to try Privoxy, Muffin, Ad-Subtract or WebWasher as a replacement. Does anyone have an opinion regarding the best and second best out of the above 5?

Thank you so much.

2. Pilli

Pilli Registered Member

Hello QSection, WebWasher is based on the proximitron engine, is free and also easy to use but does not have the depth of adjustment that The Proximitron is capable of.

I have no experience with the others you have mentioned :)

Pilli

3. sig

sig Registered Member

There's no need for a replacement for Proxo. That site's owner shut his forum site down for whatever reason but Proxo is still available on the net, additional configuration files and filters are also still available and there is still a community of active users.

I don't know what happened but it appears IMO that this particular site owner is being a bit of a ..... well, let me just say there is no good reason to have that advisory just because he shut down his forum. His site is not the only site that provides proxo support and files. For example, here's another site where Proxo is available for download and it also has a Proxomitron forum, in addition to forums on other subjects:

http://www.computercops.biz/modules.php?name=Forums

Here's another site with helpful info on Proxo and links to other Proxo sites and resources: http://www.proxomitron.info/index.shtml

Fortunately the community of Proxo users did not and does not depend on the site the owner recently closed.

BTW Pilli, WebWasher is not based on the Proxo engine. AdSubtract Pro (not free) had and perhaps still has a licensing agreement with Proxo's author.

4. Q Section

Sig