InstallWatch anyone? Win 7 x64 only please!

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by nagan, Dec 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nagan

    nagan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Posts:
    29
    Hi,,
    I have been using this Installation Analyser software for a very long time win98 , xp, and now win 7 x 64 without any major issues.Though for the past few days while analysing the registry , it records all the entries in HKLM>SOFTWARE>wow6432node as freshly created , which is not true.
    The app is available @ http://www.softsea.com/review/InstallWatch.html
    You can just check only for the registry. Create a snapshot and run analysis immediately.
    There is a similiar post here http://www.sevenforums.com/software/269420-can-someone-test-installwatch.html
    I have not seen so far something as fast as Installwatch in its category.
    This might even fork for Win 8.
    I was wondering if the issue was unique to me and has to do with any Windows or Program update?
     
  2. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    The web of trust gives the website an orange rating.:argh:
    The comments range from being malicious to promoting rogue software.:thumbd: :isay:
     
  3. nagan

    nagan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Posts:
    29
    I have re-downloaded it from there and the program is fine and does not make my av alert. Anyway I have uploaded it here fresh
     
  4. Bodhitree

    Bodhitree Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    567
  5. nagan

    nagan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Posts:
    29
    That was kind of you. But if you please may I ask why it (installwatch) has suddenly become dysfunctional to me.Can you please test it for the sake of it? Is advanced uninstaller a 64bit program? But to assure you ,you will find installwatch to be amongst the stronger contender.
     
  6. nagan

    nagan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Posts:
    29
    Hi,
    Can someone suggest a workaround. It was working fine till a few days ago o_O
     
  7. Bodhitree

    Bodhitree Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    567
    Try running in compatibility mode?
     
  8. nagan

    nagan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Posts:
    29

    I tried testing only for the registry mode in HKLM.

    With no compatibility , it scans the registry and on analyse it records all the entries as ADDED FRESH.

    With compatibility set to WIN7 , Vista or XP , the program hangs even while scanning...
    Could it be a result of some Windows update. How does it work there , in case you are willing to give a try..
    Thanks..
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.