Installing Ubuntu Alongside Vista.

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Osaban, Nov 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Osaban

Osaban Registered Member

Hi there,
    Please bear with me I'm new to Linux. What happens is that Ubuntu gives the opportunity to install it in different ways. My obvious choice was to pick the 'Windows installer (Wubi)' which does an excellent job. The only problem is that it automatically downloads and installs Ubuntu 64 bit (probably it detects my CPU as 64 capable) and everything works out perfectly, except the memory usage is double compared to 32 bit and my CPU is also working harder (the fan is constantly on).

So I thought I'll try to download the 32 bit using 'Download and Install' and choose 'Run Ubuntu alongside Vista':
    http://www.ubuntu.com/download
    Now according to their 'Show me How' (see attachments), there should be an option to install 'Ubuntu alongside Windows'. Unfortunately when I get to that stage I get only 2 options, either 'Replace windows with Ubuntu' or 'Something else. You can create or resize partitions yourself...' which is too complicated for me.

I can't understand why this is happening, ideally it would be so easy if 'Wubi' gave me the choice to install 32 or 64 bit.

Thank you in advance for any comment.

Attached Files:

2. vasa1

vasa1 Registered Member

Hi Osaban!

First, you should get rid of the Wubi if it's causing your fan to run more than usual.

It's better to do an alongside installation.

The problem seems to be the number of partitions that are already in use. You could look at this thread for posts by Noob.

Basically, you may have to reduce the number of partitions occupied by Windows to allow Ubuntu to install alongside.

3. Osaban

Osaban Registered Member

Thanks Vasa, I didn't realize that Wubi itself could be the reason behind my CPU extra activity.