installing TI8 on VMWare ESX 2.5

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by c.o.d.e.s., Feb 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. c.o.d.e.s.

    c.o.d.e.s. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Hello,

    I'm having trouble installing True Image 8 on my VMWare ESX Server 2.5.
    I keep on getting an error message telling me that my current kernel version (2.4.9) must be updated to 2.4.18, 2.4.20 or higher.
    Is there a way I can install TI8 on my VMWare ESX Server 2.5 without updating my kernel? Or if there someone found a way to install it, it would be nice if you could tell me how to do it.

    Thanks!
     
  2. c.o.d.e.s.

    c.o.d.e.s. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Is there anybody that has TI running on a VMWare EXC Server or does anybody know if it is even possible??
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello c.o.d.e.s.

    Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    We are really sorry for the inconveniences.

    The only way to install Acronis True Image properly in your case is to update the Linux kernel as it was recommended. The version 2.4.18 will be ok, however 2.4.20 would be even better.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  4. c.o.d.e.s.

    c.o.d.e.s. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Hi Ilya,

    Thank you for your answer. I'm not really happy with the idea of updating the kernel, because it was modified by VMWare for the ESX Server. After updating the kernel I will not be able to get support from VMWare.

    Has your company tested this installation or has your company worked together with VMWare about this problem?
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello c.o.d.e.s.

    We haven't tested your particular configuration however it is for sure that with the updated kernel Acronis software will work properly. We do not work with VMWare but we do use test our software with their to be sure in compatibility.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.