Installing TI 11

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by greshoff, Oct 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. greshoff

    greshoff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Hi,
    I currently have TI 10 installed. Should I uninstall this before installing TI 11 full version?
     
  2. VolkerNadolski

    VolkerNadolski Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Posts:
    165
    Hi,

    uninstalling is a very good idea. I tried the upgrade way several times and every time the installation completed succesfully, but after the boot the system can't find a valid serial (there is nothing under hklm\software\acronis....).

    Greetings

    Volker
     
  3. greshoff

    greshoff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Thanks for the reply. Anyone got further ideas? I was thinking of uninstalling TI10 first.
     
  4. visch1

    visch1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Posts:
    28
    If it didn't cost anything I would. One less thing to blame "If" 11 messes up.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please be aware that generally is it not recommended to uninstall the previous version of Acronis True Image Home upon the installation of the latest one. You just need run the new installation package. All the components that have been chosen during the previous installation would be updated.

    To VolkerNadolski
    In this case we recommend you to submit a request for technical support providing the full description of the issue and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    If you have any further questions concerning our software, please feel free to contact us at your earliest convenience and we will do our best to assist you as soon as possible.

    Thank you,

    Best Regards,
    Alexey Bogomolov
     
  6. VolkerNadolski

    VolkerNadolski Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Posts:
    165
    Hi,

    this is not worth to struggle with product support (send in this, send in that, run three times around the table....etc). I just simply uninstall and reinstall.

    Volker
     
  7. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    If you uninstall 10 first, you will ahve to remake Backup locations and Tasks aftere installing 11.

    Otoh, since 10 and 11 don't use exactly the same directories, you will have a simpler imporint onthe disk is you uninstall 10 first. Sometimes, installing over an earlier version can have some other problems but usually not.

    If you find you have probs installing over an old version, it will end up being more work to then uninstall 11 and old traces of 10 before you can clean install 11 -- so some folks figure it's better to bite the bullet up front and jsut remove 10 and then install 11.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.