Installing FIFA 17 (Video game)

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rasheed187, Apr 25, 2019.

  1. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,784
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Perhaps a dumb question, but is it possible to install FIFA on my second drive? I just noticed that it needs 50GB of free space, but I haven't got this on my SSD. So will I be able to install it on my HDD? Or must these kind of games always run from C:\Program Files or the main OS drive?
     
  2. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,141
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    If I recall, fifa uses origin. You can define the game install directory in origin settings.

    Generally speaking, games can run from any HDD partition or folder.
     
  3. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,784
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I thought you didn't need Origin when you install the game on disk? Just to make things clear, I currently have two disk drives (SSD + HDD). The SSD is used for Windows + apps, and the HDD is used for storage. I have only 20 GB left on the SSD, but I have plenty of space on the HDD.

    So will I be able to install it on the HDD (non OS drive), that's the question. But seriously, Electronic Arts has lost it, I've read they switched to a new gaming engine, so that's why they need 50 GB, and the game is delivered on 5 DVD's, it's insane. I think I will rather install FIFA 16, it only needs 15 GB of space.
     
  4. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,141
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I do not remember any recent EA game after 2013 which runs without origin installed. The reason for the disk space requirement is the frostbite engine, it stores massive amounts of texture data to drive improved graphics.

    You can install it on your HDD but first you need to define the game install folder in origin.
     
  5. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,784
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I forgot to mention that I bought the game on DVD. I suppose you don't have to deal with Origin then. However, I did notice that with FIFA 18 and 19 you get to see "digital download" on the DVD box, so apparently you have to download it or something. But anyway, I think I will now buy FIFA 16. I also wonder where the hell all of my disk-space has gone on my SSD, I will use the excellent WizTree to figure this out.

    https://www.softpedia.com/get/PORTABLE-SOFTWARE/System/Portable-WizTree.shtml
     
  6. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,784
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    You seem to be right, I didn't install FIFA 17, but I did install F1 2017, and it will always load Steam during startup, this is stupid. Seems like PC gaming has been ruined by these idiots who came up with Steam and Origin. I think I will buy a Xbox.
     
  7. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,157
    In Steam, go to Steam menu -> Settings -> Interface and uncheck Run Steam when my computer starts. Then it won't load at startup anymore.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.