Installed Prevx ended up with Webroot

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by sturgess, Mar 13, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sturgess

    sturgess Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Posts:
    158
    Have 101 days left on my Prevx 3.0 licence, and having just purchased a new Windows 8 laptop decided NIS 2013 and Prevx 3.0 was the way to go. After the installation Prevx's initial scan took almost 30 minutes to complete which was unusual, what happened next was even more unusual, Prevx vanished and a 30 day trial version of Webroot appeared. I don't want a 30 day trial of Webroot, I want the 101 remaining days of my Prevx licence please. I uninstalled Webroot, took 3 attempts to get it to leave, Prevx has also disappeared, and I now have bits of Prevx and bits of Webroot plus Windows error messages appearing all over the shop on what should have been a beautiful new clean machine and I'm annoyed. If the helpful guy from Prevx still patrols these forums an explanation on what just happened to me would be much appreciated.
     
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    This is due to the transition from Prevx to Webroot - there are a few threads ongoing about it right now: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=343310

    We're moving all Prevx users over to Webroot, so the best way forward will be to uninstall your current product, reboot, and then install Webroot using your Prevx license, and you should receive a Webroot license in return with your full duration.

    We're moving users over one chunk at a time so it's possible that your license hasn't made its way across the systems yet. If you don't receive a Webroot license with the correct number of days on it, send me a PM and I'll track down the cause on our end.

    Thanks, and let me know if you have any questions!
     
  3. sturgess

    sturgess Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Posts:
    158
    Explanation much appreciated. I did however not appreciate the installation of a different product than that requested on my laptop. My existing set-up works well with Prevx 3.0 and has done so for many years. I will not be taking up Webroot's offer but replacing the very excellent Prevx with Malwarebytes Pro.
    Many thanks for your help.
    Kind regards
    Sturgess.
     
  4. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    FYI Webroot is Prevx. (Webroot acquired Prevx several years ago) So Prevx is exactly what you got but a better and further developed and improved Prevx in new WSA. Also you can use Webroot alongside other AVs just as you could with Prevx :)
     
  5. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Exactly, and it's the same team behind the product as well, so you should be able to use it just as you would have been using Prevx, except with better protection, quality, and much better support.
     
  6. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,634
    Location:
    UK
    Your existing set-up should still continue to work with WSA. Even Malwarebytes PRO works alongside WSA.

    Be advised that WSA is the much improved version of Prevx; it is essentially Prevx 4.x with a lot of new stuff on and under the hood. Webroot bought Prevx in 2010. Claims to work alongside other anti-malware products continue as they did before.

    It is only now that the transition of all existing Prevx users to the newer product is underway; there have been technical reasons, due to how both licensing systems worked, why this has taken a long time in coming.

    If you liked how Prevx 3.0 performed, I'd seriously go back to using WSA as that is using Prevx technology.
     
  7. guest

    guest Guest

    IMO that would be very stupid for two reasons:

    1.) Webroot Secure Anywhere is the new "Prevx 4" as others already told you. If you didn't know that until now it was clearly a fault of Webroot/Prevx marketing who kept you in the dark about it.

    2.) I tested MBAM Pro (with realtime protection!) as a replacement (just for testing purposes) and it made at least my system much slower than with Webroot/Prevx.

    So please think about that before you maybe do something stupid. :)

    I liked Prevx 3 very much (though I was annoyed by many false fp's back in time). But Prevx 4 = Webroot Secure Anywhere I do love even more and I don't look back at all .. maybe in some years for other reasons .. remembering how it all started with cloud av-protection. ;)

    I hope you listen to us. :)
     
  8. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @ Prevx

    Couldn't you include a PopUp to Prevx users via their AutoUpdate facility, to inform them about the changes, & with a link to your www explaining ?

    This way you would reach Everyone = :thumb:
     
  9. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We don't have any in-product messaging capabilities within Prevx, but when you upgrade to WSA through P3, you'll receive a special build which should ease the transition:

    Screenshot.png
     
  10. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    That is a very considerate and special service to new Prevx transition customers :thumb: A very nice gesture and welcome to WSA (aka Prevx 4.0) imo. :thumb:
     
  11. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,634
    Location:
    UK
    So the information is there when the transition is made from one product to another. All it needs is for people to see that right at the top and to click on the link provided.
     
  12. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @ PrevxHelp

    OK !

    Well it was just an idea i had, that might have helped ;)
     
  13. sturgess

    sturgess Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Posts:
    158
    I received emails from both Prevx and Webroot, both supplied me with identical code and download links. Webroots email offered me 365 days, and Prevx offered me 125 days, as I am only owed 101 days I was unlikely to complain. I can confirm that after installation I appear to have a 365 day licence, however as things appear messed up with Webroots transition exercise I'll be happy with a 101 day licence. I believe I have the Webroot SecureAnywhere Antivirus and not the full suite, so have kept NIS and Trusteer Rapport on board. Thankfully for my banking and such I now rely on my Chromebook which has its own inbuilt security. Thanks to all who responded to my post, all helpful comments were much appreciated.
    Just checked and my 365 day licence is now a 126 day licence, still can't complain it's better than the 101 day licence it replaced.
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2013
  14. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    WSA AV contains a firewall, Identity Shield (browser protection similar to Rapport), and a myriad of other suite-like features which we've moved into the AV-only product to ensure the majority of users get the most protection.

    See this comparison chart: http://www.webroot.com/En_US/consumer-compare.html

    As for the key differences, it may have taken a database update to refresh the duration of your license. Everyone with a P3 license should end up with slightly more days when they get converted to a WSA license.

    Let me know if you have any questions!
     
  15. sturgess

    sturgess Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Posts:
    158
    Hi, thanks for the chart, have now removed Trusteer Rapport, just NIS and SecureAnywhere AntiVirus left, should I feel safe ?
     
  16. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes! ;)

    TH
     
  17. sturgess

    sturgess Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Posts:
    158
    Good to know, thanks :)
     
  18. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,100
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I'd remove NIS too, but that's just me.
     
  19. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Not just you Sir. :)
    I always use one AV/AM at the time, even if it's compatible with others. WSA Only :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.