Installed MS Security Essentials, all I need?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by TheMozart, Apr 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I just installed MS Security Essentials. I then removed Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware and a-squared, and use MS Security Essentials only now.

    Have I done the wrong thing? Feedback? Experiences?
     
  2. dueceswild

    dueceswild Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Posts:
    184
    I would definitely put MBAM back in the mix. MSE is good; but I personally wouldn't be without MBAM. Maybe not realtime, but I would include it on some level.
     
  3. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I noticed that MS security essentials doesn't check the registry.

    So I will keep MBAM which I know checks the registry.
     
  4. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Ditto, keep MBAM.
    I do not believe any AV will prevent all the rogue malware, and so I run MBAM realtime.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  5. tipo

    tipo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Posts:
    408
    Location:
    romania
    nice! :thumb:
     
  6. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    591
    Location:
    Canada
    MSE and MBAM works nice together?
     
  7. progress

    progress Guest

    Only MSE is not enough to be accepted at wilders :cautious:
     
  8. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    I'd say it depends on your browsing habits. Only a sandbox and you can go anywhere...
     
  9. adik1337

    adik1337 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    199
    as long as you have sandbox configured right ... you can actually live without any real-time AV ... so I suggest if you really want MSE add sandboxie and reinstall MBAM for on demand scanning and your good to go.
     
  10. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    I don't know about the rest of your setup. But let's say you use Vista/Win 7, with UAC enabled and Windows Firewall (Win 7 Firewall is very good, Vista is also good) enabled and now Microsoft Security Essentials as realtime antimalware.
    As long as you are an experienced user, you know what kind of websites/links/ads you should ignore and so on you will be absolutely fine with MSE, a good and simple to use program.

    Although a second-opinion is always usefull, candidates: Hitman Pro, a-squared Free and Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware.
    If you are visiting risky websites and stuff I would suggest adding something like Sandboxie.
     
  11. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Do you really think that the browser is the only source of infection?
     
  12. progress

    progress Guest

    Yes :)
     
  13. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Well what can I say, you're wrong.
     
  14. progress

    progress Guest

    I don't use/need DVD, CD and Floppy Disc :D
     
  15. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Maybe it's best to use the brain to avoid installing rogue malware. :p
     
  16. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    I could probably run without anything and find a proper solution for LUA - I just like DW as a very, very strong safety net. ;)
     
  17. Troy45

    Troy45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Posts:
    26
    Yes I really like MSE but I also have Malwarebytes Anti-Malware running real time. Runs great together here with Win XP Pro SP3. Been using MSE since the beta last year. I did have problems with MSE only updating once per day. But solved that problem by changing the "SignatureUpdateInterval" in regedit from 24 to 1 hour (will check for updates every hour now). I also always use Sandboxie Paid version with firefox and IE forced.
     
  18. iravgupta

    iravgupta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Posts:
    605
    As a minimum, a delayed quick scan(available in latest build) with HitMan Pro would be advisable. May be its just me but MSE as the only solution doesn't inspire confidence.
     
  19. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    It doesn't for me either. It did to some degree before, but even trjam has now switched it for Prevx, which is not a isolation security program either. I'm sure he'll switch soon again and praise it to heaven just like he always does. ;)
     
  20. iravgupta

    iravgupta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Posts:
    605
    I respect trjam. He defies all comments on him by his sheer nimbleness.
     
  21. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Are you saying that Sandboxie installed is not safe to browse any website unless it's configured somehow?
     
  22. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Prevx is good. But Eset is my baby even though 4.2 is killing me in speed. I am waiting though on my favorite to hopefully arrive one day,;) Geswall 3.0 64 bit ready.
     
  23. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Sounds great - you favored an isolation app. once again, at last. :D Do you know any interesting features it brings to the table?
     
  24. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    There are 2 important one's that are not set by default on a win32 OS. Delete sandbox on exit to clear any junk from your browsing session and Drop rights. I also add a colored border around the sandboxed app. However, SBIE is still safe without these set.

    Ice
     
  25. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe

    I tried it last year: I find it heavy and invasive, and I don't like that I using it must share with Microsoft. :mad:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.