Install Ver 3 over Ver 2?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by bobinorlando, Mar 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bobinorlando

    bobinorlando Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Can I install Ver 3 over Ver 2, or do I have to uninstall the existing NOD first?
    I don't see this anywhere in the FAQs.

    Thank you.
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,721
    Location:
    Texas
    Yes you can.
     
  3. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    Overwrite the existing install.
     
  4. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    You can install version 3 over 2 but I wouldn't. I feel a clean install is always best.
     
  5. Kosak

    Kosak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    711
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Hi!

    No, I don't recommend this step, because v3 use Windows Installer and there is a little bit difference between their engine.
     
  6. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    I did it without any problems or bugs but i agree with clean install is always better.
     
  7. NodboN

    NodboN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Posts:
    139
    Suggest you backup your settings before unistalling V2, clean up debris after uninstalling and only then install V3.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.