Install TI 10.0 over TI 9.0 or uninstall TI 9.0 first?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by pompste, Nov 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pompste

    pompste Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    27
    Hi,what`s the best way to install TI 10.0 as per my question in the title?
    Thanks for the info.
     
  2. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    I’d install over 9. Seems to work OK.
     
  3. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    I installed 10 overtop of 9 without any problems.
     
  4. bulldog356

    bulldog356 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Posts:
    137
    Installing 10 over 9 should work just fine, and that seems to be borne out by several posts I've read here.

    Even so, when I finally upgrade - and I'm in no rush to do so - I'll do a clean install. Just because v9 was my first experience with True Image and I probably tormented the program as I was learning how to use it. Any sc***-ups still buried in my backup/recovery jobs will be erased in a clean install.
     
  5. crypto1701

    crypto1701 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    I wasn't sure, so I unloaded 9 first. Pleasant surprise.. it kept all my settings and schedules!

    I did notice one thing.. I have an upgradeof 10. I actually started the process of upgrading before I decided to unload first.. and got as far as the key. When version 9 was still installed, it only needed my version 10 key. When I unloaded 9 and installed 10 from scratch, it asked for both my version 10 key and my version 9 key, as it always does on a fresh install. This tend to make me belive that they fully intended it to be upgradable with version 9 installed.

    That said.. unless your machine is dead slow, I would unload 9 first. It keeps all your settings, and you just never know when a DLL (or registry entry, for that matter) is going to become obsolete, slip through the cracks at build time and end up being left "running" on your system.. it happens.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2006
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.