install security programs in SafeMode? Y/N?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by jfd15, Nov 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jfd15

jfd15 Registered Member

Hi,
    i have seen some on here advise to install security programs in Safe Mode

(to avoid conflicts?) which seemed to make some sense, then i saw another

person on here saying that installing in Safe Mode would be a mistake because

something like the registry? or stack? wouldnt be seen by the security program..

would like to hear the experts on here offer their views..thanks

2. Carver

Carver Registered Member

Thats not really necessary, just exit spyware scanner residents to avoid conflicks and maybe Av resident (only if it is asked for by the security program maker). But installing security program in safe mode..thats going a little to far just to avoid conflicts with other programs.

3. ErikAlbert

ErikAlbert Registered Member

I'm not an expert, but I would never install or even uninstall security softwares or any other software in Safe Mode, because I know that Safe Mode isn't the same as Normal Mode, but don't ask me the difference, I don't know that either.

I never saw a software that recommended me to install it in Safe Mode either, so I see no reason at all to install software in Safe Mode. There is nothing special about security softwares, they do a job like any other software.

4. Perman

Perman Registered Member

Hi,folks: