Install or use CD?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Dushtacat, Sep 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dushtacat

    Dushtacat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    Is there any reason to install TI on your hard drive if you don't want to schedule any image creations? Can't you do everything from the CD?
     
  2. Tabvla

    Tabvla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    649
    Location:
    London, England
    Do you mean the boot CD or the program CD?

    If you mean the Acronis boot CD then the answer is a qualified "yes, to a point". But if you do everything from there then you would be working in the Linux kernel.

    In my experience I have always found working from within Windows to be significantly faster than working from the Linux kernel.

    Do you have a specific reason for not wanting to install ATI on the PC?
     
  3. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
  4. Dushtacat

    Dushtacat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    Thanks so much. That link answers my questions. This is a great Forum.
     
  5. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802

    No.

    Fer example, you cannot mount volumes that may be used within windows.
     
  6. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Nor can you add the Acronis bootable rescue media components to an image being created direct to DVD(s).

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.