Install Firefox 2 over 1.5 or uninstall first?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Devinco, Nov 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Devinco

    Devinco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,524
    Any problems installing FF 2 over the top of 1.5 with some extensions into the same folder?
     
  2. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,526
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Some people are experiencing problems. I suggest a clean install.
     
  3. Devinco

    Devinco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,524
    Thanks zapjb. :)
     
  4. GideonD

    GideonD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    No problems at all here on 6 PCs so far. Direct install over 1.5.0.7. Automatically updated extensions for me.
     
  5. King FN Kong

    King FN Kong Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    134
    Id do a clean install if it were up to me. Better safe.
     
  6. Devinco

    Devinco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,524
    Thanks guys,

    I'm going to do a clean install for the major versions like this.
     
  7. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  8. Devinco

    Devinco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,524
    Hi Longboard,

    I never understood that Mr. Tech Local Install.
    What's the big deal?
    I can save the extension locally by right clicking it and save link as...
    What is the practical application of such an extension?
     
  9. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Definitely do a clean install, also be sure to delete your old profile.
     
  10. Devinco

    Devinco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,524
    Thanks Trooper.

    How about backing up bookmarks?
    Should I use FF 1.5 Bookmark Manager to export, or MozBackup?
     
  11. JohnnyBravo

    JohnnyBravo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Posts:
    82
    No need
    just go
    Code:
    Bookmarks -> Organize Bookmarks -> File -> Export
     
  12. Devinco

    Devinco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,524
    Thanks JohnnyBravo.
     
  13. tlu

    tlu Guest

    You can override the "max. version" setting of an already installed extension (i.e. enforce compatibility) - and most of the time it will work with the new FF version.
     
  14. Devinco

    Devinco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,524
    Thank you Thomas!
    Now it makes sense. :)
     
  15. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    If they wanted us to clean install they would tell us. Just install over the old version. At the end it will tell you what ext. and themes you have aren't compliable with ver 2. Your bookmarks and everything else will be there. It will also tell you if any of your extensions have updates available. (ex. Forecastfox)
    :D
     
  16. dog

    dog Guest

    Rather than just backing up your bookmarks ... make a copy of your entire firefox profile folder (and store it elsewhere). Then either uninstall and install FF 2 fresh or just install over top. You can then copy (not move) over the entire contents of the profile folder -- [If you decided on the fresh install -- otherwise the folder contents will still be able in the proper directory and you'd have just saved a backup copy in an alternate directory] -- , which will have FF 2 setup exactly the way you had FF 1.5.X setup - minus any extension issues from the compatibility check, and if there's any issue, delete the profile folder and restart FF which will create a new clean folder and then you can copy back some selective things like your, passwords, cookies, bookmarks etc. from the profile backup you made.
     
  17. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    I just installed 2.0 over 1.5x. Just install and use. All settings left intact.
     
  18. ~*Nat*~

    ~*Nat*~ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    8,129
    Location:
    Germany/Ohio-USA ~ between two worlds
    I also just installed on top of the old version, and so far my FF runs smoother, and without any crashes than ever before !!!

    *knock on wood* ;)

    I agree with the other poster. I believe if it were so important, they would let us know if we had to uninstall the old v. first.
     
  19. eniqmah

    eniqmah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    391
    I second that. urrhhh ...These.
     
  20. Devinco

    Devinco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,524
    Thank you Dog, twl845, nadirah, Nat, and eniqmah!

    Installing over the old version would have worked fine, but I had some crashing problems with FF 1.507 lately.
    So I decided to go for a totally clean start.

    I backed up the profile folder and the program folder, uninstalled, deleted the folders, then installed FF 2, and selectively restored bookmarks and some plugins.

    Works like a champ so far.
     
  21. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Glad to hear FF 2 worked out. it's still #1
     
  22. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    @Devinco
    sorry missed this but yes:

    Dont forget Adblock 0.6 to 0.7 now (would not do auto update for me)
    FF2 all good here so far.
    Have actually been able to give up IE permanently, got all the bank sites and any others going well. No real probs with any sites except MS who ocas. just seem to refuse to use the proper protocols
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.