Incremental Rotate Scripts for "Image for Windows"

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by pandlouk, Jul 6, 2017.

  1. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,976
    You're welcome.:)

    About minimizing (or hiding completly) the command and ifw window.
    Pete had asked me a last year.

    1. If you want to run a minimized command window add the following line in the top of the script:
    Code:
    if not defined RunIFWTask set RunIFWTask=1 & start "Image for Windows" /min %SystemRoot%\system32\cmd.exe /c "%0" & goto :EOF

    2. If you use the windows schedule, you can completely hide the command window if you use the "hidden" option in the schedule settings... Then only the ifw window will be displayed.

    3.If you want to minimize or hide the ifw window, edit the script and at the end of the lines
    set TBIParms=
    and
    set TBIIncParms=

    add "/min" or "/hide".
     
  2. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    3,211
    Location:
    Location Unknown

    That would work fine. Except that in your version the cmd.exe is still visable. In the version, I posted, it is not. With that there are no obtrusive windows, and everything runs silently in the taskbar.
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,783
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    You can go one better with neither a command window, IFW GUI or taskbar icon. Nothing is shown.

    Do this as a Scheduled Task (which can also be run manually).
     
  4. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    3,211
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    I saw that. The problem there is that manually images cannot be created without resetting the schedule.
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,783
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    If you use "Sample Backup Batch Script 2 - Rotate based on count." it doesn't reset the schedule. The script can be run manually or scheduled or both.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.