Incremental Images

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by richbenn, Mar 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. richbenn

    richbenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Posts:
    16
    I'm new to the product so I expected something different than what I got, so maybe its normal? I created the first image of my disk and then three days later I created an appended image, the appended image was larger than the origianl so I did another incremental 15 mins. after the first incremental and that was larger than both the full image and the first incremental.

    I expected the first inc. to be smaller than the full and I really expected the 2nd incremental to be a fraction of the two as almost nothing had changed.

    Is this normal behavior? If so why do an incremental when it is larger and takes more space than the full image?

    Thanks for any help, Rich
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Rich,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    We are really sorry for the inconveniences.

    The described bahaviour is not normal. Could you please describe whether you have any defragmenting software installed? If so it is the most possible reason for the problem. Also please make sure you are creating the image of the same partition every time.

    If the problem still persists please create Acronis Report (please see https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=55317 for the instructions) and send it to support@acronis.com along with the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  3. richbenn

    richbenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Posts:
    16
    I found part of the problem was between the chair and the keyboard! The default was mybackup on my R: drive so I thought that it had found the file to append to it hadn't it just shows a file name that doesn't exist and appends to a file that didn't exist that is why it was larger than the one I was refering to. So the next attempt I chose the correct file and the image was 23% the size of the origianal. I immediatly did another inc. and it was still a large file for nothing changing on my system. The orginal file was 8gb the 1st was 2.2gb and the third was 20mb.

    Why does the incrimental default to file that doesn't exist and not find the first file (or no file selected at all). that it thinks it should append to.

    Thanks for the help, Rich
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Rich,

    Could you please clarify whether the third image file was 20Mb or 20Gb? If it was 20Mb then it is normal because there was lamost nothing changed between the second and the third file creation (the slight difference between these two states is resulted from some changes made by operating system).

    Also please tell what you mean by "Why does the incrimental default to file that doesn't exist" ? If you create the incremental image and indicate the file name that doesn't exist the full image is created.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  5. richbenn

    richbenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Posts:
    16
    The thrid image was 20Mb. When I select the create an image, it defaults to putting a check mark for my C: drive, that's fine, I click next and it choose my R: drive to place the backup, fine also, what isn't right to me is that the file name that it chooses for the inc. backup is "R:\MyBackup.tib" that file doesn't exist so if one accepts this default the inc. backup will be appended to file that doesn't exist so in essence its a full backup instead of the expected incr. backup. I would expect it to be blank (no file selected) or pick a .tib file that exists and let me change. Also its a little confusing that the image creation wizard isn't a simple file browser as one is used to it has the folders and files on the left panel and the right is just the information about the drive your on, until you select a file then it gives you the some information about the file that is selected. I expected folders on the left and files to select on the right like most file explorers.


    Thanks for the help, Rich
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Rich,

    MyBackup.tib is the default name for the image file and currently we do not plan to change this setting. In fact, you may choose the file to wich you want the incremental image to be created.

    As for the browser we will forward your wish to our designers and they will take it into account.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.