Incremental backup help please.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by terence1, Jul 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. terence1

terence1 Registered Member

I'm new to computers & backups & Acronis!! I have made a backup of my hard drive & want to do an incremental backup but have got part way & am stumped about what to do next. I'm uploading (I hope) a screenshot of where I got to.
    I was told to select the folder to backup so I clicked drive C & the next button greyed out. Help please & what should I do? I have tried the on-board Help but cannot see any easy-step information about what I should do. o_O
    Thanks.

2. Tabvla

Tabvla Registered Member

Hi Terence, welcome to the Forum :D

Thank you for letting us know that you are new to computers, backups and ATI. It really helps when someone is open about their level of expertise as that makes it easier to provide the correct advice.

You say in your post that you "...have made a backup of my hard drive..." What is not clear from this is what type of backup you made. As the screenshot did not upload, I am unable to determine which version of ATI you are using or which Operating System is installed on your computer. Please post this information when you reply.

The first and and by far the most important thing to understand is that there are 2 distinct categories of backups - the first is where you simply want a copy of your data and the second is where you want to be able to restore a bootable disk.

If all you require is a copy of your data then you could use almost any method - Windows Backup; ATI Files and Folder (or My Data) backup; or even Copy & Paste will do the job. This is very easy to do.