Increasing Free Space

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by seashore, Aug 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. seashore

    seashore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    Hi,

    I have the usual scenario on my DeskTop: 1 Disk; 3 partitions: BOOT C: NTFS 92 GB | BACKUP D: NTFS 85 GB | RECOVERY E: FAT 32 9.3 GB

    On C: I have the main installation XP Home SP2, but this installation has errors; D: is the storage and E: was empty till recently.

    I have DisK Director Suite 10 and ATI 11 (Home).

    C: is physically healthy but there is some conflict somewhere. CheckDisk is unable to go through all the all the 5 stages (by checking both options under C: | Properties | Tools | Check Disk). However, it did allow the 3 phase check (repair errors by checking only first box as above). It crashes the system on attempting a TI backup also. Presently it is unable to boot as does not find the root directory! I do not want to loose the contents of C: as these are vital to my work.

    Since C: has been giving a lot of trouble, I installed XP Pro SP2 (presumably more stable) on partition E: hoping to increase Free Space, install all applications afresh on this drive, move the working files from C: to it and then wipe it clean to remove any remaining errors. I now had the classic log in options for XP Pro or XP Home.

    I installed a new installation of DD on E: and also installed the OS Selector. I tried to increase Free Space on E: and opted for taking it from C: as I do not have any unallotted space on the HDD, but it failed: Unable to read the sector...on C:.. and did the same by taking space from D: (which presumably does not have any errors). I also have a fresh TI backup of this on an ext. drive and could wipe the partition clean if need be, but would that help to increase the desperately required Free Space on E:?

    I also tried to change the Type on E: (presently FAT32 to NTFS) it says it did, but it continues to show it as FAT32! How can I be sure or how can I change the type to the more stable and protective NTFS?
    I also tried the OS Selector which worked, but after that the system started crashing again every 15 minutes or so. This time it is the XP Pro Drive. So had to uninstall DD and OSS. Now the system does not crash so often (presently 3 hours and going on - touch wood!), but it is far from stable.

    Would be very grateful for any advice in this respect.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Just having OSS and/or DD installed in Windows shouldn't make the system crash.

    DD won't convert FAT32 to NTFS. You'll have to use the Windows tool or another program.

    If you can access the C: partition when booted into the E: (XP Pro SP2) partition, I'd copy all the important files from the C: partition to a USB drive so you have a copy before you do any more experimenting.

    Have you tried running chkdsk /r when booted into the Recovery Mode of XP from the XP CD? Another option is to run it from BartPE or VistaPE. Either if these will also let you copy any files you need.

    When you tried the TI backup, was it from Windows or when booted to the TI CD?

    ---

    Be aware that running chkdsk may cause further corruption if the disk has serious problems. That's why it's highly recommended to recover any important files prior to running it, if possible.
     
  3. seashore

    seashore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    Thanks Mud Crab,

    To change the Filesystem I had tried to run the XP command in cmd prompt toconvert E: /fs:ntfs, but it crashed.

    I can access C: from E:, but it gives errors (eventually crashes) when trying to copy and paste files from there to an ext. disk. I think I do have a BART PE and will try to secure the most important files, if it lets me...

    I had tried chkdsk /r from the recovery console also. As usual it finished the first 3 phases and then simply gave the message - Unknown Hard Disk Error and stop. After this if I restarted the system (without the CD) it would log on to the configuration and I could work. But this has not been the case after I installed XP Pro on E:, it stated that it could not locate the root in system32 etc.

    Right now (after reinstalling DD and OSS) it shows XP Pro, Unknown OS, and Unknown OS (2). It does not respond to any of these options saying it cannot find any recognisable configurations.

    I had tried using True Image 11 from the main windows installation, it succeeded doing this for partition D:, but failed several times (crashing) using C: as the backup object.

    I know that once you have hard crashing errors the drive it is dying...I am therefore looking for a new drive and shall be buying it today from the local shop or order it online tonight in which case it should be here on Tuesday or Wednesday the latest. On Monday I will check with computer manufacturer if the Seagate Drive is guaranteed for a period beyond the usual 24 months. The drive is a little over 3 years old.

    I will try recovering whatever I can (highest priority) using the Bart PE and let you know how it went.

    seashore
     
  4. seashore

    seashore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    Hi Mud Crab,

    Bart PE did not let me save any files. However, I am not sure if COPY and PASTE is the right way to do this.

    I copied the folder Documents & Settings and tried to paste it to a folder on my external drive which I was able to access. After some 5-7 minutes it gave it up "error reading files on ...". I repeated the procedure, this time trying to paste a smaller folder "My Documents" to a folder on E: Drive (containing XP Pro), but this too failed. :doubt:

    Is there any other procedure to do this? I tried to search over Google, but did not find any description of a proper procedure to copy files and save them to a secure place.

    I am ordering the new drive and will either take a:
    1. Western Digital (HDD EIDE 500GB WD WD5000AAKB 7200 16MB) or
    2. Seagate (Seagate ST3500630A Barracuda 7200.10) depending on who promises to deliver first..

    seashore
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You may have to try copying the files one at a time or perhaps in small groups. If the hard drive has failed, you may not be able to get much off.

    You could try booting to a Live Linux CD (like Knoppix or Ubuntu) and seeing if you have any better success copying any files.

    File recovery software would be another option.
     
  6. seashore

    seashore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    Hello Mud Crab,

    I had already started saving my data piecemeal or better said morsel for morsel and it that was the only way it worked and now have most of my data safely tucked away, but it will certainly be a chore to get it back to work..I also tried preparing the Knoppix DVD, which I was unable to prepare having too little disc space and needed to install Nero or Roxio for that, so I let it be.

    I got my Seagate drive this morning and have already installed Windows XP Pro, but I am not really pleased with partitioning bit using XP. It did not give me any option to choose the drive letter which it chose as I: and now does not let me change it either. It has reserved C: D: E: respectively for Disk1, 2 and so on.

    I am wondering if I should go on with it using XP or can I use the Disk Director which inherently gives a lot more freedom and ease and is by far a better tool for partitioning? I do want to have my system labelled as before or I may get into a lot of hassles getting things (applications, shortcuts etc)to function properly aftrer I restore the backups and saved files.

    Thanks for any tips in the right direction!

    seashore
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    When installing XP, make sure the destination partition already exists, is Active and all other Primary partitions are hidden. XP should then detect the destination partition as the C: drive. I would recommend you reinstall it correctly. Having a Windows drive letter other than C: can cause all sorts of problems later on.

    If it need to be done to get it to install as C:, disconnect the other drive(s) while installing.
     
  8. seashore

    seashore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    Hello MudCrab,

    I would like to thank you for your advice and help during my rather scary ordeal.

    Now, all is order and have restored most of my vital files and applications with small negligible losses here and there. Everything is running and working perfectly on the new disk.

    Now, I am off to start making backups and schedule them to do so automatically. And after that I will install Vista, but I am considering and weighing out possibilities, whether to install it as a second drive on a new partition or to install it as a virtual drive..

    I'll keep in touch and stay abreast with the good things you do!

    seashore :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.