Incorrect password or not a TrueCrypt volume after a windows 10 crash et resetup

Discussion in 'encryption problems' started by x265, May 24, 2017.

1. x265

x265 Registered Member

Hi there. This is my first time posting to this forum. Based on a lot of previous threads I've been reading, I see many of you knowledgeable about TrueCrypt recovery.

quick story : 3 days I had a BSoD on my windows 10. I couldn't start again windows, it was looping and crashing when trying to reboot with the windows Automatic Repair.
    I've try self repair option build in windows 10 for fun, but nothing worked so I did a clean setup as I usually do, formating c: without touching my truecrypt partition d:

Problem :
    -Incorrect password or not a TrueCrypt volume when I try to mount my truecrypt partition
    -I don't have a backup header
    -Use backup header embedded in volume if available doesn't work
    -TestCrypt can't find any truecrypt partition

what could I possibly try? I haven't touched/deleted/resized my truecrypt partition.

my last hope maybe, I've dumped the entire partition on an external hard drive in a new tc file with WinHex.
    I was thinking I could format my truecrypt partition and recreate one (same size, place, and password)
    so the header will be the same as before ? so I could do a backup header and restore it to my backup extrernal hard driveo_O

Any thought would be great. I'm desperate.

2. x265

x265 Registered Member

3. anonymiss

anonymiss Registered Member

If the volume was where you are trying it, it would likely give an error like "incorrect volume size" which is my problem. The phrase it is giving you may just be exactly that. Are you 100% certain it is hidden on the file you are trying to mount and the password is correct? If so, sorry, I am of no help. I wanted to ask Dantz for help personally but I am unable to figure out how to send a user a personal message. https://www.wilderssecurity.com/members/dantz.62505/