Incorrect command line parameter

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by pemar, Jan 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pemar

    pemar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Hi,

    I am getting an error box saying:

    "Incorrect command line parameter: /all"

    during file transfer with MSN Messenger. The file downloads ok but I believe it is not being checked by NOD. Messenger displays where the file was saved only after I close the error box.

    How could I fix it?
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Please post the exact commandline that you are using.

    Cheers :D
     
  3. pemar

    pemar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Hello Blackspear,

    I don't know if I am looking in the right place...
    I have put following line in scheduler when I was setting up my weekly scans:

    C:\ /adware /ah /all /arch+ /clean /cleanmode /delete /heur+ /log+ /mailbox+ /ntfs+ /pack+
    /quarantine /scanboot+ /scanmbr+ /scanmem+ /scroll+ /sfx+ /unsafe /wrap+ /unwanted /antistealth+

    Is that what you asked about?
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Yes.

    What version of NOD32, 2.5 or 2.7?

    Cheers :D
     
  5. pemar

    pemar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    2.7RC
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Please post a screenshot of the error message.

    Cheers :D
     
  7. pemar

    pemar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Here is the screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 27, 2007
  8. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Please remove the " (quotation mark) after all in your commandline.

    Cheers :D
     
  9. pemar

    pemar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    There is no quotation mark in command line as entered in scheduler. I have copied and pasted it in previous post. When I edit my weekly scan I eventually get to this screen
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I would delete the scan and place it back in, as well add the work directory.

    Cheers :D
     
  11. sir_carew

    sir_carew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    884
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    Off topic: Are you using the RC version? O recommend you to upgrade to the final version of NOD32 2.7 as I think beta and releases candidates aren't supported.

     
  12. pemar

    pemar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    I have deleted the scan, added work directory
    C:\Program Files\ESET\
    copied command line entries from your instructions and again I have gotten NOD error.

    So I have changed command line to one which is for NOD 2.5. Error again.
    Went back to 2.7 command line. Error again.

    Then I followed sir_carew's suggestion and installed NOD2.7 (on top of existing one - to keep my settings). Rebooted computer, tested again the file and I have gotten the darn error again :(

    So, I assume, the next step would be clean reinstall, unless it is messenger's fault?

    I use Windows Live Messenger 8.0.0812.00
     
  13. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Perhaps I am mis-understanding and hope not to be a bother but in your first post you mention...."during file transfer with MSN Messenger" and then We start talking schedules and commands :doubt:

    Is this error pop up as you are downloading a file from "MSN Messenger" or during a scheduled scan :doubt:
     
  14. pemar

    pemar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada


    Hello Bubba,

    I have noticed that during file transfer with Windows Live Messenger (is it the same as MSN Messenger?)
    What happens is that when file is transfered an above mentioned error message pops-up. The file is downloaded correctly.

    I have been looking into command line in my weekly scan setting as recommended by Blackspear - otherwise I don't know where to find this setting. From Blackspear's post I drew the conclusion that command line which is set in scheduler applies to whatever is scanning Messenger's file transfer.

    I couldn't find any other place for entering the command line.

    I have configured NOD according to Blackspear's instructions and have checked them recently.
     
  15. pemar

    pemar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Hello everyone,

    While trying to solve the error problem I realized that I had a cracked copy of NOD. Had I known that, I would not ask any questions before paying for the program I really like.

    Today I have uninstalled the bad version and purchased a new copy from Eset.

    pemar

    ps. The error message, however, is still in place
     
  16. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    What happens if you remove the /all switch?

    Cheers :D
     
  17. pemar

    pemar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Hi Blackspear,

    The same error pops-up when /all switch is deleted.

    After installation of fresh copy of NOD I have tested it with file transfer before applying your instructions. I had an error message with NOD installed with default settings.

    Then I have changed all the settings according to your tutorial with the same results.

    Also, I tried with my firewall and SSM (System Safety Monitor) disabled. Same result.

    I had restarted computer in safe mode (with networking), started NOD and Messenger, transferred file, and had the same error.
     
  18. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Can you please post some screenshots of the settings in Messenger.

    Cheers :D
     
  19. pemar

    pemar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Bingo!

    There is a setting in Messenger called "file transfer"
    In the box there is a command line saying:

    "C:\Program Files\Eset\nod32.exe" /selfcheck+ /list+ /scroll+ /quit- /pattern+ /heur+ /scanfile+ /scanboot- /scanmbr- /scanmem- /arch+ /sfx+ /pack+ /mailbox- /adware /unsafe /ah /prompt /all"
     

    Attached Files:

  20. pemar

    pemar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    I have removed all the quotation marks and now the error is gone and I get the NOD scanning window.

    The previous owner :mad: must have set the messenger this way as I had no idea that this option even existed!

    Are the switches in this command line ok?
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Excellent, we have a winner :D

    Indeed there is, I knew the quotation mark had to be there, as NOD32 was complaining about that particular switch.

    Your switches look fine.

    Cheers :D
     
  22. pemar

    pemar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Thank you all for your help!

    pemar
     
  23. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    You are welcome.

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.