Inbound traffic - wy-in-f83.google.com port 53287

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by BeLGaRaTh67, Jun 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BeLGaRaTh67

    BeLGaRaTh67 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Posts:
    14
    basically I have just updated to windows vista x64 ultimate SP2 and after installing ESS 4.0.437.0 I am getting popups every 30 mins or so asking to allow an incoming connection from wy-in-f83.google.com (209.85.227.83) on port 53287

    I am a bit dubious about allowing this, but am concerned that even without starting a browser or anything I get this intrusion, I am denying at the moment without settign a rule but want to know if it is safe to either allow or deny on a permanent basis.

    FYI it was a clean install on a brand new drive (my old drive died anyway so I bought a new drive and an OEM licence for x64)

    http://cid-94c35735288394b3.skydrive.live.com/self.aspx/Public/wtf.jpg
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    what google software do you have installed? it might be trying to update

    Cudni
     
  3. BeLGaRaTh67

    BeLGaRaTh67 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Posts:
    14
    Thnx for the reply, I haven't installed anything else yet apart from Office, ESS and Firefox (and Steam, which is currently grabbing my games) I have no addins yet for firefox. Oh and I installed all the updates from Windows Update too
     
  4. robis

    robis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Posts:
    149
    and what about google search panel in FF or IE?
     
  5. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    FF also gets it`s list of suspected forged\attack sites from Google as well. If you have the option checked under Tools\Options\Security to do so.
     
  6. BeLGaRaTh67

    BeLGaRaTh67 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Posts:
    14
    Thanks for all the replies, not sure about the google search panel, is that the search bar where you can change between google, answers.com etc on the right?

    I have all of the options ticked under security, apart from the password options, I don't get it to remember passwords or a master password.

    I have noticed that it is now not constant, but I will get a whole batch of request all at once from different domains at google as well as some others, namely comodoca, robtex and cachefly. They tend to come in flurries of 10-15 requests one after the other, and can be when I have a browser open or not (I only use Fx)

    I didn't have this issue before I formatted and upgraded from Ult. x86 to x64 (but I don't think that would be the issue?)
     
  7. robis

    robis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Posts:
    149
    Yes, but I dont know how it works.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.