INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE after Restor

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Briandr, Dec 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Briandr

    Briandr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    I backed up my smaller hard drive (partition backup) and then put a larger one in. I used my recovery CD to access True Image 9.0. The restore from the external drive containing the image to the new internal hard drive went good, until the restart. The Windows 2000 Pro logo appeared then:

    "*** STOP: 0x0000007B (0x818B51B0, 0xC00000010, 0x00000000,0x00000000)
    INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE
    If this is the first time you've seen this Stop error screen,
    restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follow
    these steps:

    Check for viruses on your computer. remove any newly installed
    hardware or hard drive controllers. Check your hard drive
    to make sure it is properly configured and terminated.
    Run CHKDSK /F to check for hard drive curruption and then
    restart your computer.


    Please advise as to what I might have done wrong. Thanks.
     
  2. Briandr

    Briandr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Anyone??
     
  3. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Your MBR is a little bit up the spout.

    Did you tick the MBR option when making the image?

    You have two choices, either do a repair intstall from the W2K CD - though you'll lose your service packs, or if you have set up console mode you can remake the MBR.

    You can also (if using NTFS) download the Acronis MBR remaker the link to which is in their Before You Post topic.

    If these don't work, the other things to try would be to have the external image drive connected, whilst 2K is booting for the first time, or see if you can boot into safe mode and attempt to change the SID's - but not too sure how on 2K to go about this, as normally this can happen in XP when an image or file is added to an existing install and the file SID's on the image/file don't match the current install. The amswer here is to add those files to your user permissions and all is then well.


    Colin
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2006
  4. dbknox

    dbknox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    511
    Location:
    Canada
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,644
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Hey guys, how do you get a MBR error out of this situation? He can see his Win 2000 logo. In addition you don't need to tick Restore MBR when restoring a TI image. Ticking the box restores your own MBR (if you have a need for a special MBR) but if you don't tick the box a generic MBR is created by TI and this is quite satisfactory for booting.

    I'd be looking for a hardware problem. IDE or SATA HD? Cables?
     
  6. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    With a W2K install, this particular STOP message often relates to the CHS entry in the MBR's boot sector not pointing to the correct sector where the boot code lies. This could happen when an image from a small drive is moved to a larger drive and 2K throws a wobbly.

    The other things that cause this problem are; Programs that write to the boot sector - such as boot managers or the Secure Zone, virii that overwrite the MBR code, or corrupted/missing drivers that 2K needs during the boot process.

    I was actually querying whether the MBR had been ticked for imaging purposes.

    I hasten to point out that whilst the details of FAT12/16/32 are published by Microsoft, NTFS is still on a paid for need to know basis, so apart from boot and active signature I accept that NTFS might do things slightly differently.

    The easiest thing is still to use the 2K CD and pull up the recovery console (the exact 2K name escapes me for the moment) and try a fixboot and fixmbr, it might be that the boot.ini entry is no longer pointing to the right sector anymore, that or a naff driver could certainly explain the logo screen then the stop message.

    At boot time (in a FAT system) CHS is used until the boot code direct to cluster 2 from then on LBA is used.

    Colin
     
  7. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Have you checked this:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/324103

    F.
     
  8. Briandr

    Briandr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Thanks folks. Yes, I did check of the MBR option. I can not boot safe mode. The drives I believe are IDE. I was hesistant about checking that darn thing off. What about just wiping the drive and starting over? I really don't want to invest huges amount of time into troubleshooting this. Isn't that the point of buying this software. Quick, painless, and clean?
     
  9. Briandr

    Briandr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Other comments / ideas ? I know the moderators told me to make a comment if the post had been ignored for a while.

    What's interesting is some of you would imply you need to restore the MBR while others say don't worry about it as TI will take care of it. Here is where I am at. I don't like Symantec. Haven't for a while since Peter Norton sold out on making a good product, but still allows them to use his name. The last good Ghost they put out was Ghost 2003. I have used that and found it to be reliable in most instances. TI I am new to and probably quick to rush to judgement on it, but I want my system on its feet. Lets assume for argument's sake I got a good image. So what's going wrong here as to why it can't be restored?
     
  10. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    The two quickest things to do, is either try restoring the image again, or if you have an actual W2K CD, make a repair installation.

    W2K has a few differences between it and XP in how it boots, and the message you are getting can mean that W2K can't find where it's boot files are, this would be a reasonable assumption because you've changed to a larger hardrive and therefore the disk dynamics are different.

    Normally, a fixboot or similar would solve that problem, but to save time using the recovery option from the install CD is in order.

    Colin
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.