Improving SUPERAntiSpyware

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by SUPERAntiSpy, May 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MICRO

    MICRO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,020
    There must be a necessity but I wonder what it is, if you can give me a clue
    please ?

    SAS - MBAM - Spybot S&D each take one hour give or take a few seconds
    (on dialup) to download an update.

    Whereas SpywareBlaster - Threatfire - AVG take between
    10 seconds and two minutes for any of their updates.
     
  2. 0strodamus

    0strodamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,051
    Location:
    United Surveillance States
    So far the pre-release version is running fine here. The only thing I would like to see is an option for the context menu scanner to be able to scan compressed files (.zip, .rar, and .7z).

    I also think the following menu items should be removed from the registered pro version:
    SAS.png

    EDIT: Also please add the bug icon to the Windows Explorer context-menu item.
     
  3. SUPERAntiSpy

    SUPERAntiSpy Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,088
    Why would you want the Find Out What's Running On Your Computer removed? It's a free way of checking out ALL the processes on your system.
     
  4. SUPERAntiSpy

    SUPERAntiSpy Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,088
    We create our software for our users, and when we are "in the trenches" working on technology all the time, I believe we need to be in touch with our users to find out what we can improve from their standpoint -meaning, we always know that improving detection and removal is critical, but we also want to know what we can do to help our users.

    SpywareBlaster, for instance, is only downloading CLSID's (text file list) that is very small, where SAS, MBAM are actually downloading definitions which require more space.
     
  5. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,063
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Any kind of IP Blocking feature would be an additional plus point...
     
  6. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,970
    Last time I used Superantispyware it's default setting for the free version was to start when Windows starts, I think the free version should not start when Windows starts.
     
  7. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    594
    Location:
    Canada
    HIDE licence number once installed or leave last 3 digits visible.
     
  8. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    870
    Location:
    2500'
    FWIW, MBAM does the same as I have had to block the free version from auto starting.

    I have the pro version of SAS but when I took it off real-time the other day I just had to stop three files from auto loading.
     
  9. SUPERAntiSpy

    SUPERAntiSpy Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,088
    We actually do that because many times an infection will block new processes from starting via the shell, if SAS is running, you have a chance to scan and clean the infection. We could make that an installation option.
     
  10. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,273
    Location:
    USA
    Nick - Have you resolved incompatibility with Kaspersky Anti-Virus?
     
  11. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,970
    That would be much better then by default start with Windows with no way to change that when we install it.
     
  12. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,089
    Location:
    USA
    .
    An issue for me with the Pro version is "real time protection" (RTP) can be toggled from the tray icon's right-click menu. It's pretty easy to toggle the protection unintentionally. I also wonder if malware simulating mouse clicks could turn it off? The fact that you're going to make the tray icon reflect status will help. Additionally I suggest that the enable/disable toggle for RTP be moved to the SAS control panel section.

    I strongly support specific targeting of the malware du jour. Too many products have vast databases, but can't block or remove the latest rogue AV which makes them useless.

    Last, I agree that anything you can do to speed up the Quick Scan would be very helpful. Thanks!
     
  13. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    well in that same train of thought, ud think malware could also simply double click the tray icon and disable it through the interface/settings. thats no reason to move enable/disable out of the tray icon and personally prefer to have it ther for quick access when wanted.

    and moving enable/disable to the control panel just creates extra hassel with no real benefit. whats the point?
     
  14. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,089
    Location:
    USA
    .
    The main point of moving the setting off of the right-click menu would be to eliminate accidentally toggling the setting when accessing the menu. When the icon shows status it will be more apparent if this happens. As is I've turned it off once or twice and didn't notice for a while. Actually I'd like to see an option for password protection of settings.
     
  15. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,979
    As Victek123 :thumb: says and suggests

    :thumb:

    Essential to prevent others interfering :thumb:
     
  16. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    It's great that SUPERAntiSpyware fully supports Windows 64-bit, but I still dislike the right-click scanning. SUPERAntiSpyware needs to be running in order to use it. Personally I dislike making it startup and close to tray, because I'm using the free version, so it's unavailable until running the program itself. Most other programs do not have this limitation.
    Also, what is this SAS Core Service? Is it necessary for the Free Version? Can I change the startup from Automatic to Manual without any problems occurring?
     
  17. SUPERAntiSpy

    SUPERAntiSpy Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,088
    The Core Service should be left running. It won't use any CPU and uses little to no memory while the UI is not open.

    We will be updating the right-click scan shortly to start SAS scan, and then shut down.
     
  18. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    i do agree the status should be shown in the icon, but in all the years ive been using a computer ive never been able to right click the tray icon, move to wer it says shut off and click accidentally...im typically in control of the mouse personally.
     
  19. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    870
    Location:
    2500'
    The problem is that the "enable real-time protection" and "update program" selections (from the tray icon) are adjacent to one another so someone with clearly less ability than you possess might mis-click and accidentally disengage the real-time protection without having realized it.
     
  20. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    Then, changing it to Manual should have no effect other than slower startup right? I don't use Hi-Jack Protection.
     
  21. progress

    progress Guest

    I second that :(
     
  22. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Now, there's something that could be added to both Free and Paid versions.

    Also, AFAIK, there's no portable version of the free version. It would be nice for people not to need to install the free version. Both options could be available at the web site: portable and installable.
     
  23. JRosenfeld

    JRosenfeld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Posts:
    117
    SAS free on XP pro SP3. Never had a problem with any version.

    A very small aesthetic point:

    When doing a manual check for definition updates one first briefly sees a message box saying 'checking for updates', followed (if there are updates) by the 'downloading updates' box with the progress bar, then the checking for updates message box reappears for some seconds, followed by a second downloading updates progress bar and finally the window that gives details of the updates.

    I thnk that it would be neater if there were only one sequence of the checking for updates and downloading updates message boxes, with the final information window indicating that the update is complete and successful.



    A second point is that the method provided for the user to exclude one or more folders from a scan, requires that the user highlights the folder to be excluded in the folder tree to add it to the exclusion list. One can only highlight one folder and it therefore means one has to do it folder by folder, via the add button each time. That is somewhat cumbersome and time consuming if one wants to exclude several folders.
    It would be more user-friendly if the folder tree showed a check box against each folder, in which by default all folders are checked (selected to be scanned) and the user can, in one go, uncheck all the folders that are to be excluded (or, of course, the reverse (and perhaps more intuitive): all folders are unchecked (to be scanned) and the ones the user checks are the ones to be excluded). That is the method for user-defined folder selection in several other apps I have and it is very much more convenient. (I seem to remember asking for this a couple of years ago :)).
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2010
  24. MICRO

    MICRO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,020
    Nick, You definitely must have misunderstood - My *First* question was strictly related to my second and third sentences, and *Not* in any way whatsoever questioning why you were asking users for helpful feedback.

    Thanks for your second sentence reply, and of course for SAS.
     
  25. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,098
    Location:
    USA
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.