Improving my DSL connection

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Mr.Blaze, Feb 24, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    I just finaly got CenturyTel DSL threw CenturyTel it uses Netopia cayman 3300 with broadband router by linksys v WRT54G That im attached to threw my cable jack thats to my gigabyte k8 triton v GA-K8NS MOTHERBORDS cable modem.

    my firmware is

    Current Firmware Version: 5.0
    Current Firmware Revision: 7.5.0r3

    my qustion is all this is out of the box how can i improve my 1.5 bps i think thats what it is 1.5 something

    but im hooked to the router shareing hard wired

    only geting 174 kb a sec

    everything is out of the box how do i get better perfomance

    what can i update

    also i see these so called dsl boosting software any of them actualy work?

    if so which one is the best
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Re: omg

    If you are paying for 1.5 megs download speed your upload will be about 175/220 kbs on average. some IPs vary but not to much. And if you have a contract for 1.5 mb that is all you are going to get. you can't pull it out any faster than they have you setup for.
     
  3. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Re: omg

    there are some registry tweaks u can apply to optimize throughput, but dont expect miracles. i personally use SpeedGuide TCP Optimizer
     
  4. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    Re: omg

    well i perty sure it 1.5 but im not geting 1.5mb im geting 174kb dowenload

    hmmmmmmmmmm that looks like a cool freware cable booster software but is it the best?

    im new to this stuff guys
     
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Re: omg

    If you are paying for 1.5 and all you are getting is 174kbs You need to call your IP and see what is going on.
     
  6. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Re: omg

    u have a 1.5 megabits per second connection and since there are 8 bits in a byte => 1500 mbps / 8 = 187.5 kilobytes per second.
     
  7. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    Re: omg

    So WSFuser I AM PERTY MUCH GETING WHAT IM SUPOSE TO ESPECHIALY SHAREING IT ON A ROUTER RIGHT?
     
  8. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Re: omg

    yes, ur connection is fine.
     
  9. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    Re: omg

    THX GUYS YOU BOTH ROCK
     
  10. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Re: omg

    MR, Blaze just to give you an idea how upload speeds compare to download speeds Here is a test I did on mine. I pay for a 3mb download connection, notice my download speeds and upload speed. you should see something like this in relation to your connection. Test site Here
     

    Attached Files:

  11. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Re: omg

    I can never get this test to work right! :mad: :mad: I know my connection is 5000/800 cable!
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada

    Attached Files:

  14. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
  15. beetlejuice

    beetlejuice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    8,523
    Here's mine.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    WELL I DOWENLOADED SpeedGuide TCP Optimizer

    how do i configure this thing WSFuser im very new to this
     
  17. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    here my test result
     

    Attached Files:

  18. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    http://img110.imageshack.us/img110/4491/speedguide5rj.jpg
    where it says connection speed, drag the slider to 1500, if u have pppoe (dsl that requires login either via modem or software) check the box. at the bottom, check "optimal settings" and click optimize. there might be a few dialog boxes, just click ok.
     
  19. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    :D YES BROTHER I CAN FEEL THE POWER BETWEEN MY MODEM NOW LOL THX I THINK THIS IS BETTER RIGHT
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    [MOVE]And... here is my test result![/MOVE] lol
    Test.JPG
     
  21. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    and i thought bigc's connection was fast...whats it like having all that bandwidth?
     
  22. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    More importantly, what does he do with all that bandwith :ninja:


    Alphalutra1 :D
     
  23. Heco

    Heco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Posts:
    264
    Location:
    Provence, France
    Well... i read all your posts!:D ;)
     
  24. MojoWorkin

    MojoWorkin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    60
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2006
  25. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    internet bandwidth tests can be affected by the site's server, ur browser cache, or background programs, but as long as its reasonably close to ur ISP advertised speed, then u should be fine.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.