Important questions on using TI8 first time

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by 2budbeer, Mar 10, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 2budbeer

2budbeer Registered Member

Hi to all.
    I have TI 8 build 800
    OS XP
    I'm new to TI 8. I've read the users manual ( some sections multiple times) and been reading from this forum for days. The differances between what the owners manual says and what the forum members recommend is enough to confuse anyone. So here are some questions I need answering and/or verified before I get in to deep. Hope someone can help?

1) It looks like Startup Recovery Manager and safe zone go hand in hand. To activate SRM you get stuck with safe zone also. Correct?

2) User manual states "We recommend that you restore disks using windows, only using other methods if windows doesn't load."
    Then Ilya from Acronis support states at this forum in another thread https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=69392&highlight=MBR
    "Currently you will not be able to restore the system partition without rebooting into Acronis True Image standalone mode"
    Going by the later statement you can not restore a full image through windows?

3) Read in another thread that you can restore a full image when using a Acronis rescue boot disk and it will not screw with your MBR. Is this true and can you do all your restoring from the Acronis rescue dick? Is this method the safest way to do a full restore or any restore without all the possable problems that may accure using the dredded Startup Recovery Manager?

4) I know my why around a computer pretty good, but have never done a partition. This is probably a very stupid question so try not to laugh to hard. Does 1 partition splt your drive in two, or 2 partition split it in two? Sorry