Important info for those running Superantispyware

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by robinb, Apr 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    Superantispyware has upgraded to version 4.35.1002

    One of the reasons for the upgrade was for the auto-updater. In version 4.34.1000 and versions 4.35.1000 if you had downloaded and installed any of these versions they were not upgrading to the next version. I found this in 4 new computers I installed both versions on ( 3 for 4.34 and 1 for 4.3.5.1000) running windows 7 home premium and windows 7 Pro.

    If anyone is having the same problem use Superantispyware's uninstaller and install version 4.35.1002. You can get the uninstaller here:

    http://forums.superantispyware.com/index.php?/topic/1344-superantispyware-uninstallation-assistant/

    robin
     
  2. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    818
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,622
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I never had any problem with the update feature in the last 2 builds so maybe not everyone had this problem?

    TH
     
  4. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    maybe you were just lucky, but many did have the problem :)
    robin
     
  5. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,103
    Location:
    Outer space
    I don't know if this is by design or not, but when I have the GUI open and click check for updates it only checks for definition updates, but when I close the window and right click the SAS icon in the notification area it also checks for program updates, and if there are none, then it also displays a box: no program updates found.
     
  6. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ

    Is this in windows 7 or vista? this problem seems to be only happening in those OS's but it could be in xp too via on the versions i posted above. If it is then you need to use the uninstaller and put on version 4.35.1002


    robin
     
  7. NodKiller

    NodKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Posts:
    19
    same, autoupdate didn't work for me with the last two builds... XP Pro SP3
     
  8. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,103
    Location:
    Outer space
    It's on Vista 32-bit, but as I said, it does work when updating via right-clicking the SAS icon in the Vista notification area, so I've already updated to 4.35.1002
     
  9. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,908
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks...I found that I couldn't update through the built in updater, the update didn't show up. Software makers sometimes want you to remove the old instillation for compatibility reasons. So I went to Super Anti-Spyware website and downloaded the software.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.