Important info for those running Superantispyware

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by robinb, Apr 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    Superantispyware has upgraded to version 4.35.1002

    One of the reasons for the upgrade was for the auto-updater. In version 4.34.1000 and versions 4.35.1000 if you had downloaded and installed any of these versions they were not upgrading to the next version. I found this in 4 new computers I installed both versions on ( 3 for 4.34 and 1 for 4.3.5.1000) running windows 7 home premium and windows 7 Pro.

    If anyone is having the same problem use Superantispyware's uninstaller and install version 4.35.1002. You can get the uninstaller here:

    http://forums.superantispyware.com/index.php?/topic/1344-superantispyware-uninstallation-assistant/

    robin
     
  2. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    757
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I never had any problem with the update feature in the last 2 builds so maybe not everyone had this problem?

    TH
     
  4. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    maybe you were just lucky, but many did have the problem :)
    robin
     
  5. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,767
    Location:
    Outer space
    I don't know if this is by design or not, but when I have the GUI open and click check for updates it only checks for definition updates, but when I close the window and right click the SAS icon in the notification area it also checks for program updates, and if there are none, then it also displays a box: no program updates found.
     
  6. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ

    Is this in windows 7 or vista? this problem seems to be only happening in those OS's but it could be in xp too via on the versions i posted above. If it is then you need to use the uninstaller and put on version 4.35.1002


    robin
     
  7. NodKiller

    NodKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Posts:
    19
    same, autoupdate didn't work for me with the last two builds... XP Pro SP3
     
  8. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,767
    Location:
    Outer space
    It's on Vista 32-bit, but as I said, it does work when updating via right-clicking the SAS icon in the Vista notification area, so I've already updated to 4.35.1002
     
  9. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks...I found that I couldn't update through the built in updater, the update didn't show up. Software makers sometimes want you to remove the old instillation for compatibility reasons. So I went to Super Anti-Spyware website and downloaded the software.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.