Import Error - Blackspear's settings

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by OzBoz, Jan 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. OzBoz

    OzBoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    Hi again,

    Each time I try and import Blackspear's settings into NOD32 v3 (as per the tutorial) I get an error message. "Error occurred....not completed...etc"

    Am I missing something obvious?

    Cheers
     
  2. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Not that it should matter but how did you actually download the file ? Meaning, did you right click the file and select Save Target As..., which should have a name Blackspears Settings.xml ?

    Also, does it appear to be a Nod error message or a Windows error message ?

    I'm not at a workstation to try and in case it matters, since most of the settings are applied to the Local_Machine portion of the registry, does this user have Windows Admin rights ?

    Bubba
     
  3. OzBoz

    OzBoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    Thanks Bubba,

    I right click and save target as....Blackspears Settings.xml

    The error dialogue is headed "Import Settings" and looks like a Windows message.

    Single user computer XP SP2 with full admin rights.

    This has got to be something so stupidly simple, and I'm missing it.

    Cheers
     
  4. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Possibly not because as you know it's only about a 3 step process. Have you attempted to do it again just in case you selected the wrong file when the Open box came up to locate the file ?

    Also, have you attempted to download the file again in case it got corrupted in transit ?

    What happens if you export your present settings and then attempt to import that xml file, same error ?

    For kicks and grins I attempted to import an exe file and the error message appears to be a Nod error message because the click here takes you to the EAV Import and export settings help section.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2008
  5. OzBoz

    OzBoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    Ok,

    You are correct, that error msg is a NOD msg, but clicking "here" doesn't help much.

    I've re downloaded the .xml but I still get the same error msg. I've saved my current settings (from a clean install) but get the same error when I try and import Them

    Could this be an Excel related error. I'm using Office 2003

    I'm at a loss as to what settings are incorrect, and where to change them.

    Cheers
     
  6. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    One way to head this in the possible Office 2003 direction as a cause is to change that export files extension from XML to TXT and attempt to import that TXT file.

    Off hand I would not know why Office 2003 would be a cause but that's not saying much. I do know Office 2000 has not caused any problems here with XML import files I have been mucking with.

    Bubba
     
  7. OzBoz

    OzBoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    Strange one. If I double click on Blackspear's xml file, it opens as an html file all nicely indented. If I open it with Excel, (2003) it is only about 30 lines long and left aligned.

    If I save my current settings to xml I get the same. 30 lines left aligned, and also a different icon

    I now strongly suspect this is an Excel format/compatibility/version problem.

    Cheers
     
  8. OzBoz

    OzBoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    Before I roll back to v2, has anyone managed successfully to enter Blackspear's settings into v3.

    I am receiving error messages for both the Import, and the manual method.

    The settings I enter manually from the tutorial (posts 28 to 35) just will not save. (Warning! Could not save scan tagets)

    When trying to import, (An error occurred during the import process)

    Cheers
     
  9. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    I have had no issues with that XML file nor any other custom XML files I have created and some those contained only a few entries for testing purposes only.

    Given there are only a few settings being adjusted via the BS XML file and given you would still be well protected with Eset's default settings IMHO, perhaps you could consider placing everything back to default and concentrate on the scan targets issue ?

    Having said that, if you are meaning this portion of the BS tutorial, which scan targets are you choosing and tell us about some of those targets especially if they are usb, external....etc.

    Bubba
     
  10. OzBoz

    OzBoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    Ok, but that's a major issue for me. It just won't work.
    That looks like my only option with v3
    That is the section of the tutorial which I'm referring to. Specifically posts 29 to 35. The targets I select are only my hard drives C and E. On the setup screen I select Objects > Email files, then Options > Potentially unsafe applications, then Cleaning > Strict Cleaning, then OK, On the next screen I select Save which gives me the error message, Unable to save.

    I have downloaded and installed 3 times, (15.3 MB) with a registry clean each time, so it is not a corrupt download. There are no resident security apps present when I install, and no rubbish left behind from previous installations.

    Version 2.7 is looking better and better all the time.

    Cheers
     
  11. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    After any of those installs have you tried exporting the actual default settings before making any adjustments and then attempt to import those actual default settings ? Going only by what has been posted, it appears the issue has come down to something related to the scan target selection but correct me if there is more than what's been posted :doubt:

    Also, in case it's beneficial, what type hard drive is E....IDE, SATA etc ?

    I would hope there would be a more compelling reason other than strictly this scan target issue relating to importing that would cause a new user not wanting to install 3.0 :doubt:
     
  12. swami

    swami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Posts:
    167
    You can do it manually. Won't take more than a couple of minutes.
     
  13. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    I think he tried that already . ;)

     
  14. OzBoz

    OzBoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    Yes post #8. Same error on attempt to import.
    That is correct, although I have a feeling that the import problem is related. It is as if NOD is not permitting any changes.
    If it makes any difference, both C and E are 150MB SATA drives.
    I've used v2 for years now with no problems at all. It works, and works well, and IMO is the best product of it's kind on the market. Version 3 is released, which I understand uses the same scanning engine, and same virus definitions, but on my setup will not work as advertised. To be honest, I can't see any reason, compelling or otherwise, to use v3. If it won't accept any changes, what else is it not doing in the background?

    Cheers
     
  15. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    I would agree that the import function is being affected but is somewhat secondary to the actual problem IMHO, which would be that you are not able to select your C and E SATA drives for what ever reason.
    Same here
    True
    One definetly needs to be able to trust one of the most important layers of defense.
    That is definetly an impoortant question, however, while not being able to select your SATA drives which indirectly affects the import function, that is only one of a few items left for Eset to address. Hopefully when all is said and done with the few remaining bugs, you'll feel better about updating from 2.7 ;)

    Thanks for all the answers and hopefully some of what you have found will assist the Eset programmers in duplicating this issue you are experiencing.

    Regards,
    Bubba

    Cheers[/QUOTE]
     
  16. THE_BAD_BOY

    THE_BAD_BOY Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Posts:
    40
    i got those settings by my self long time ago .. bot yeah i try Blackspear's settings on some customer pc and everything works good with out problem :)
     
  17. OzBoz

    OzBoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    With the help of Eset Support, I have now fixed the problem. Judging by the speed of their response, I assume the problem is a known issue.

    I am relieved that it was not something I was doing wrong, and now I have the latest version of the best anti virus available.

    Thanks everyone for your interest and effort.

    Brian
     
  18. OzBoz

    OzBoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    I should have mentioned that the problem was with Windows on my system, and not EAV. EAV was not able to write to the registry, and adjusting the registry settings resolved the issue.

    The fix, if anyone needs it is:-

    -->Click on Start

    -->Click on Run

    -->Type in regedit

    -->Click on OK

    -->Right Click on HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE

    -->Click on Permissions

    -->Click on Advanced

    -->On the “Permissions” tab and make sure at the bottom of this window the following lines are ticked:

    Inherit from parent the permission entries that apply to child objects. Include these with entries explicitly defined here.

    Replace permission entries on all child objects with entries shown here that apply to child objects.

    After the above, please try reinstalling a FRESH copy of EAV.

    Cheers
     
  19. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    That would be true only if an individual did not have full Admin rights.
    The bottom line is you got it fixed and hopefully as time passes you will feel comfortable that it will secure you without other concerns.

    Regards,
    Bubba
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.