Imon wont start

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Kentish, Mar 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kentish

    Kentish Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    92
    Location:
    Kent, England, UK
    My Imon wont start, but when I try to start it I get an error message saying "an error occoured when registering Imon to the system".

    Nothing I know of has changed , other than normal system updates. Adaware had been removed as I know it clashes with Nod32 sometimes. I have tried unistalling and reinstalling, but no difference.

    Any ideas?

    ps..I,m running XP Pro, fully patched along with ProcessGuard, Regdefend/Appdefend, Regprot, SpywareGuard, SpywareBlaster and Netveda (fw)
     
  2. Lamehand

    Lamehand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    the Netherlands,very near to the North sea
    Maybe Regdefend is making trouble when IMON tries to register at startup?


    Abe
     
  3. Kentish

    Kentish Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    92
    Location:
    Kent, England, UK
    Worked fine with it before.
     
  4. Lamehand

    Lamehand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    the Netherlands,very near to the North sea
    I see you use regprot and processguard as well, have you tried to put procesguard in learningmode and to disable regprot at startup?

    I say this because i had similar problems with a program not allowing me to change a setting, the reason was regprot somehow didn't allow it, without giving a alert or a other message that it had stopt the change in the registry.

    So it is worth a try.

    Greetz
    Abe
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2006
  5. ctrlaltdelete

    ctrlaltdelete Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    318
    Location:
    NL
    Could be a winsock related problem.

    Check winsock settings with a program that will show exact winsock information.
    I'm using Windows Defender Beta 2 for detailed information.

    U can use Winsock XP Fix to fix the problem
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    First you should begin with disabling Regdefend to see if it makes a difference.
     
  7. Kentish

    Kentish Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    92
    Location:
    Kent, England, UK
    It does'nt.
     
  8. 1969Benz

    1969Benz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    This is also happening to my two computers at home. A few weeks ago I was getting the "IMON failed to start" message - then I reinstalled the product and all seems to be well. Now, on the other computer at home, it has started getting this same message. I came to this forum looking for other people with a similar experience to investigate whether there's something specifically targetting NOD at the moment.

    I don't believe it's a coincidence that both my home computers, within a matter of weeks, suffered the same failure to start the IMON process.

    Anyone else had this happen? Has the IMON module been updated recently??

    Cheers,
    Ben.

    PS. Config-wise, I'm running XP Pro SP2 and only use the Windows Firewall and NOD32 as my virus/spyware defenders - which has worked perfectly for months. I haven't downloaded any recent Windows updates, nor made any changes to my firewall settings. I also don't run any of the software that Kentish mentions above.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2006
  9. lifehacker

    lifehacker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Posts:
    44
    Same thing is happening to me only in my case its with AMON.
     
  10. 1969Benz

    1969Benz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    Actually, now that you mention it, mine was AMON and not IMON as originally stated.

    On both machines I have reinstalled and updated the product and all seems to be going well. But I'd still like to know what happened.

    Ben.
     
  11. Kentish

    Kentish Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    92
    Location:
    Kent, England, UK
    Have tried uninstalling, wiping and reinstalling and wont instal, says it has a problem with the English base or something. Only way to get it back is to system restore and then reinstal over the top..but still Imon wont work.
    I shall persist as it is, but I am annoyed it ceases to be problem free.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.