IMON HELP! "cannot allocate socket errors"

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by ekeddy, Dec 27, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ekeddy

    ekeddy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Posts:
    4
    Hi ..
    I am just trying NOD32 at the moment (Vers. 2.12.14).
    I do not seem to be able to get IMON to work.
    Everything is fine with IMON disabled, but when I enable it I loose my Internet connection and get "cannot allocate socket" errors when trying to receive E-Mail, also have no Internet connection .
    When I disable IMON everything works OK as far as internet connection is concerned.
    Have heard so many good things about NOD32 that I would like to get it working if I can.

    Using XP PRO with all available SP updates .
    Firefox
    Thunderbird
    (get the same fault if I use IE6 and Outlook 2003).
    Netgear DG384G Router
    Everything worked fine with Norton Antivirus 2005 (uninstalled before loading NOD32.)

    Thanks for your help Ted
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Hello,
    this problem occurs if there's another piece of software running which does not allow NOD32 to allocate a socket. Please contact support@nod32.com and attach a log from Hijackthis (can be found easily on the web).
     
  3. ekeddy

    ekeddy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks Marcos,
    I have sent the log to NOD32 support. I will let everyone know what the solution is if they can help.
    Ted
     
  4. ekeddy

    ekeddy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Posts:
    4
    NOD Support suggested stopping each of the services in turn to see which service was causing the problem.
    Still no conclusion, stopped all services using Hijack (except GEAR NOD services), still the same problem. So I dont think it's a Service conflict.
    Could it be a Winsock problem do you think?

    Rgds Ted
     
  5. rumpstah

    rumpstah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    Hi Ted:

    With Norton 2005 removed it is almost certain to be a winsock issue. Running the winsockfix found here will most likely fix the issue.

     
  6. ekeddy

    ekeddy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Posts:
    4
    Yipeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!

    Yup that sorted it. I cant thank you enough!

    If anyone has trouble connecting to the internet when IMON is enabled, this should sort out the problem.

    Thanks again, nice to know there are people around like you who can help.
    Kind Regards Ted
     
  7. rumpstah

    rumpstah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    You are welcome Ted.

    That is why we have this forum. To sort out the fun stuff. ;)

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.