IMON causing Azureus problems

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by enduser999, May 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. enduser999

    enduser999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Posts:
    418
    Location:
    The Peg
    It appears that the IMON is bringing my computer to its knees when I attempt to use Azureus a P2P client. It is so severe that I have to hit the reset button to gain control over my machine. Is this a know problem?
    o_O
     
  2. zashita

    zashita Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Posts:
    309
  3. enduser999

    enduser999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Posts:
    418
    Location:
    The Peg
    thanks for the links. Seems that was the problem that I have been battling with for the last day.

    Update: I am still hesitate with purchasing NOD32 and using it as my main antivirus. The reason is that it is the only AntiVirus program that has caused a fair amount of frustration with it interferring with my Email program Eudora and Azureus. As it stands now I am using an older version of Azureus and can not update to the current version as NOD32 will cause my system to come to its knees.

    I have used several anti-virus applications over the years that I have been dealing with computers and NOD is the first one that had this severe of an affect on my computer.

    :(
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2005
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    for me, adding javaw.exe to the imon exclusion list did the trick, although i havent tried without the exclusion. the only issue is java's memory usage but cpu usage is relatively low. if u must azureus then i guess u might need to switch AV otherwise switch BT clients. my favorite other than azureus is bitcomet.
     
  5. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada

    Azureus I can't help with - but Eudora, you can fix that in about 2 minutes tops..

    in control center, open AMON settings, click the exclusions tab.

    Add the following two files:

    C:\PROGRAM FILES\QUALCOMM\EUDORA\DEUDORA.INI
    C:\DOCUMENTS AND SETTINGS\USER\APPLICATION DATA\QUALCOMM\EUDORA\EUDORA.INI

    where USER is your username - you might need to search for the files.

    Basically, excluding the eudora.ini file gets round the problem that Eudora access the file like 10 times a second when email is collected, filtered or just about anything else - exclusion of this file is definitely the way to go!

    hth and regards

    Greg Hewitt-Long
     
  6. enduser999

    enduser999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Posts:
    418
    Location:
    The Peg
    That is a bit dangerous as I understand it since you are excluding Java runtime. It appears that there is an updated version of Azureus that solves this problem.
     
  7. enduser999

    enduser999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Posts:
    418
    Location:
    The Peg

    Thanks. I eventually found this fix after searching the forums here. Eset should really out a link on their web site to the forums as people no doubt are having problems with the trial version and probably do not know that the forums exist unless they do a google search.
     
  8. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    It is rumored that Eset is rebuilding their site, so you might keep tuned for a much improved version of eset.com/nod32.com - but until that time, many resellers have what I consider "improved" support sections, and I would include us in this category.
     
  9. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    afaik, the latest release version is 2.3.0.4. and what do u mean by solves the problem? what was the problem in the first place?
     
  10. enduser999

    enduser999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Posts:
    418
    Location:
    The Peg
    It fixes the 100% CPU utilization when using NOD32.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.