IMON and stuck on "Applying Computer Settings"

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by marclallen, Mar 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. marclallen

    marclallen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    This may already be covered somewhere, and I apologize if so. I was unable to find it. I could not get the search engine to look for the phrase "Applying Computer Settings."

    Anyhow, when I install NOD32 on a specific IBM laptop, it no longer reboots. It gets stuck on "Applying Computer Settings". It has lasted for hours like this.

    If I boot up without a network connection, it does come up. Once up, if I disable IMON, I can reboot with no problems.

    So, somehow IMON is interacting with something in the boot phase. I believe the ACS message comes up when applying policies, but perhaps there are some services that fire up as well.

    I am an Enterprise user and this problem happened with both remote install and by installing it standalone.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks,

    Marc
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi marclallen, welcome to Wilders.

    I would suggest repairing Winsock

    ALTERNATIVELY you can do the following:

    For Windows XP:

    Click on Start
    Click on Run
    Type in cmd
    Click on OK
    Type in netsh winsock reset
    (Please note there are spaces between the netsh and winsock and reset)

    Press ENTER
    Restart your computer.


    Then repair IMON; see post number 55 HERE

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     
  3. marclallen

    marclallen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks. I did see this information, but thought it applied when NOD32 shutdown all internet traffic. Once the system boots up, IMON can be turned back on with no problems. Internet access is fine. It's just booting that's a problem.

    You still advise this course of action?

    Thanks,

    Marc
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Yes.

    Cheers :D
     
  5. marclallen

    marclallen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Yep. That took care of it.

    Can you explain how Winsock was busted? Or is this just some arcane magic?

    Thanks again,

    Marc
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Nope o_O :blink: :D

    My limited knowledge on the subject is there can only be one item at the top of the stack, and these days many pieces of software attempt to take that place which causes issues such as what you have discovered.

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.