Immense Problems Upgrading to V4

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by msanto, Mar 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. msanto

    msanto Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Posts:
    214
    OK, I've been having some problems upgrading from V3 version to V3 version before now, but always been able to work around it. This time ...

    So what usually happens is NOD32 tells me that EKRN and EGUI need to be shut down. Then I select try to shut them down and it fails. I've tried to the don't shut down and reboot option but then it usually ends up telling me EKRN needs to be shut down later in the process.

    This time V4 did the same thing, but also said it couldn't write some registry keys. Huh?

    I said ignore and it finished. I rebooted and it started with real-time file system protection disabled (for some reason).

    I went it and tried to enable "start real time file-system automatically" and it wouldn't stick. Go out and back in and the setting would not stick.

    So I decided to uninstall fully and reinstall. But the dang thing couldn't delete some registry keys!

    It eventually finished anyway but after the reboot I saw EKRN was still running, even though it said it had uninstalled fully!

    I then tried to manually remove the registry keys but couldn't.

    I had to go into safe mode and remove them all.

    Now this seems to be a decidedly unfriendly way to have to reinstall / uninstall / upgrade. I can do it, but my wife sure couldn't nor could my in-laws (who I am trying to get away from Symantec).

    Comments? It's not like I don't know what I'm doing, I've been working on PCs for 20+ years.

    Windows Vista, BTW, but with UAC turned off.
     
  2. Zykan

    Zykan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Posts:
    15
    I had exactly the same problem with v4....my main bug bear was that my exclusion list disappeared but every time i put them in they disappeared again after a restart....including other settings i had changed.

    Like you, i have many years experience behind me as well.....what did i do to fix this problem? Easy, i went back to v3 and everything is running smoothly again.

    If these problems are not sorted then i'll remain with v3. If support for v3 ever stops i'll go elsewhere, which will be a great pity as i like NoD.
     
  3. msanto

    msanto Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Posts:
    214
    Well, once I "cleaned" it out manually I was able to install. But it seems to me this is the type of "experience" that keeps people using Symantec. Having to jump through hoops to upgrade, install, or uninstall is not a good selling point.
     
  4. pondlife152

    pondlife152 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    UK
    I agree that these issues need to be addressed, but you can't really be serious to use Symantec as a "good" example! :eek:

    There's no software that has caused more removal problems for me than Symantec software. I've lost count the amount of people who've asked me how to remove it when it failed to upgrade or uninstall. They even have a utility available on their website to clean it off the system when the uninstallation fails.
     
  5. Zykan

    Zykan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Posts:
    15
    I remember Symantec very well....never again!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.