Imgburn

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by mick92z, Nov 10, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mick92z

    mick92z Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    499
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Hi everyone. Just a quick warning about Imgburn.
    Just installed the program from filehippo. I have downloaded this program many times, so just chose custom install.
    Was then downloading Ubuntu, and noticed tuneup utilities (AVG ) toolbar, and my homepage ahd changed.
    Ran malwarebytes removed 11 objects, ran adwcleaner removed some partner program data and a service and more junk :thumbd:
    If you want this program, choose custom install and leave out the crap. Better still don't bother with it
     
  2. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    883
    Location:
    Triassic
    I had the same experience. See this post

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=353931&highlight=conduit

    This stuff is unacceptable because it changes your setup preferences and places autoruns throughout your system. If you search on the product names and uninstall them in the traditional manner, they are indeed not deleted. You have to run an anti-malware program to get all instances.
     
  3. Shankle

    Shankle Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    510
    Sorry to hear this.
    I have been using Imgburn for years and am a contributor.
    I once had to remove the OpenCandy crap. None of this
    is on my puter now.
    You say stop using it. BUT What Do You Replace It Witho_O??
    It is a very good program and does the owner know this or
    is it on there without him being aware. Why would he intentionally
    sabotage his own programo_O?
    This makes me afraid to update it ever....
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    @Shankle - Unfortunately, I think most freeware disc burning programs have some toolbar or junk included in their installer. You could try either cdrtfe or InfraRecorder. Both are open-source and don't include additional software in their installers afaik. Even better, both are available as portable applications.
     
  5. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,300
    Location:
    England
    Don't forget the Win 7 & Win 8 built in iso file burner if you just need an image file burnt.

    Works fine for me
     
  6. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    Yes, it's really a shame what is happening to ImageBurn and I won't update my version until they change this crappy installation. Anyway, I found a free giveaway (earlier this year, on BDJ) for Burnaware Home Pro and now I am liking it more than IB (feature rich, nice gui, etc.). For those interested I can see another free promo right now on Facebook but I didn't check it and don't know if they're legit or not...
    - esenciabit.com/es-gratis/burnaware-pro-licencia-gratis-promo/
     
  7. mick92z

    mick92z Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    499
    Location:
    Nottingham
    To be honest, it's my fault. I rushed into installing, without caution. I have just re-run the installation, and if i had chosen custom instead of express, there would have been clear choices
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Shankle

    Shankle Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    510
    Thank you for the Burnaware suggestion.
    I downloaded the free version and it is very nice.
    Have no idea how much the pro version costs.

    Two things
    1. I full formatted a DVD and there was no progress bar to
    tell how far along it was. Took over 30 minutes. Had no way
    to know if it was stuck or not.....
    2. I burned and verified a DVD. When the verify was done there
    was no message stating that the verify was successful.

    Also when installing the program be aware that you have to remove
    the check for "AVG" or you will get things you might not want.
    I use ESET Smart Security and don't need AVG.
     
  9. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    BAware_1.png
    Yes no progress bar but there is a counting clock.
    I took less than 15 min. to full format a DVD here.

    BAware_2.png
    BAware_3.png
    Doing the same, there is a message stating a successing verify in the log window.

    I am using Burnaware Home v5.5 and there were no "added bonus" thingies.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 10, 2013
  10. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    Oups ! Why are my attached images published twice in my post ? o_O

    edit : Thanks JRViejo for the correction of the tags. I take note having to use ATTACH in place of IMG in my next posts.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2013
  11. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,968
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  12. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,968
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    ruinebabine, you're welcome! Take care.
     
  13. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    One of the reasons i always do custom installs if possible. :D
     
  14. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,522
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Its the reason I download as much as possible from MajorGeeks. At the end of each program download & description page they tell if the "freeware" is ad supported & to watch & opt out during the install. Very useful. Love MG.
     
  15. guest

    guest Guest

    So does Softpedia. :thumb:
     
  16. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Didnt know Softpedia and MG told you about ad-supported freewares. :eek:
    Now thats useful.
     
  17. SirDrexl

    SirDrexl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Posts:
    545
    Location:
    USA
    Yep, always choosing the custom installation for anything, not just this, is important. I got into that habit long ago, when the main reason was to choose the name of the folder. (For instance, I don't like it when it wants to make a folder for the company and then a folder under that.) Nowadays, you can't be too careful and you never know what kinds of things will be pushed on you if you don't.
     
  18. OldAmsXXXdam

    OldAmsXXXdam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Couldn't get Imgburn to download from any source. Nod32 says it is a trojan/malware and offers to delete it and disconnect the connection. Why is that?
     
  19. Baedric

    Baedric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    163
  20. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    This is just a guess but NOD32 is likely detecting the bundled OpenCandy in the installer as malware.
     
  21. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    Temporarily disable NOD32 to allow you to download the installation exe and make Imgburn 'portable' (Make sure you download the exe from a reputable source.). Download the exe and extract the exe with 7-Zip to a folder of your choice. Do Not 'Run' the installation exe, only extract it. Then follow these instructions:

    http://www.portablefreeware.com/?id=583

    Once the instructions for making Imgburn 'portable' are completed, re-enable NOD32.
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2013
  22. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Windows built in burning program does more than a capable job of doing what its designed to do.

    I see no reason to use 3rd party burning software.
     
  23. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Yes it's most likely a PUA detection :)
     
  24. aztony

    aztony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    USA Southwest
    But since you said you replaced your Windows OS with a Linux distro that won't benefit you. Does your distro have a built-in equivalent?
     
  25. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    @aztony.
    Im still finding my way around mint at the moment so not sure if burning is available but i see the point your making that if mint doesnt have burning capabilities then a package maybe required.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.