IMDB new IMDB logo ad over titles or actors - How to rid?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by zapjb, Oct 2, 2016.

  1. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Just noticed these small ads. Latest Firefox UBlock Origin W7p64. How do I block these? IMDB ad  Title.PNG IMDB ad  Actor.PNG
     
  2. LittleDude

    LittleDude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Posts:
    62
    I'm not getting those logos with Firefox even after disabling Adguard so maybe uBlock is to blame...
     
  3. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I do not see it with or without uBlock Origin, even with all extensions disabled. It seems more like a broken webpage. Portable Firefox displays it just fine without any extensions, obviously. Try to clean the cache, disable all extensions, maybe even change DNS. Also try portable Firefox to verify, it is not it.
     
  4. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Tried these suggestions, didn't work.
     
  5. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    And does portable version work? If yes, it might a corrupted profile, if not, it is something within Windows, a security software or something.
     
  6. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Portable version doesn't load pictures at IMDB.
     
  7. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,057
    I also can't reproduce it (Windows 7, FF, uBlock Origin).
     
  8. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Ok just tried Vivaldi same thing. But IE is clean. So weird.
     
  9. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    vivaldi and firefox are complete different browsers - even a firefox portable is off that.
    so i suggest you to investigate for filtering software on your system - any stupid security software proxies setting, adware/malware because the orange logo seems NOT to be from imdb --> look yourself https://www.google.de/search?q=imdb logo&tbm=isch

    AdwCleaner AdwCleaner Download
    Insert [Report] here, then [Cleanup]
     
  10. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    IMDB renders correct in IE only.
     
  11. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    758
    nothing to do with me :ninja:
    looks like a rendering or filtering problem.
     
  12. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    do the adwcleaner search as recommended please!
     
  13. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Done. Still no soap.
     
  14. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,134
    Location:
    USA
  15. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Is it valuable in helping me that multiple people post they don't have this problem?
     
  16. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,134
    Location:
    USA
    Did you try the element picker?
     
  17. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Is uBlock Origin the only extension or program doing web filtering on your system?
    If so export your rules in my rules tab and start fresh with "Reset to default settings..."in in the settings tab.
    Maybe some setting or filter you added is the cause?
     
  18. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    yes, it is helpful when people with nearly same configuration speak up, so me.
    thats why gandalf recommended to reset uBlock.

    so you say adwcleaner has found zero impacts?
    i am pretty sure your system is infected with a proxy malware or TOR or VPN.
    you still have the issue with vivaldi, firefox and some with firefox portable - so it CANT be browser, must be system.

    tells us please using OTL
     
  19. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    @GTG Setting UBO to default did the trick thank you.
     
  20. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Glad it's solved :thumb:
     
  21. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    if uB reset had helped then this one makes absolute no sense only if you have uB also installed on vivaldi with exact same settings (import/export)
     
Loading...