Imaging Windows 7

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by autobengal, Aug 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. autobengal

    autobengal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    Has anyone tried Acronis True Image with Windows 7?
    I image my drives with a boot cd only. However, I have tried to image and restore 2 Windows 7 RTM machines with no success.
    Thank you.
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    It works for me ... using the boot CD of Ver 9 build 3677 and the boot CD of 2009. Backup even works from within windows - 2009 installed. The boot CD shouldn't care what OS is on the disk. Did you get any kind of error when you booted a restored system?
     
  3. autobengal

    autobengal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    I just tried it again and this time it worked. I usually have my drives encrypted and use a TI boot disk to image with out a problem. I think it's TrueCrypt that's causing a problem with imaging Windows 7.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello autobengal,

    Thank you for using Acronis Products

    At the moment, the following Acronis products can be installed on Windows 7:

    • Acronis True Image Home 2010 Beta
    • Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Family

    However, the correct operation is not guaranteed since Windows 7 is still in the development stage. We are planning to release updates for our current products to fully support Microsoft Windows 7 as it becomes available.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.