Imaging RAID 0

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by bobengel, Jun 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bobengel

    bobengel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I'm currently backing up by using Acronis 10 and creating an image of my main HD. I will soon be converting to a new computer which will have two HDs in a RAID 0 configuration and want to back up the image to an external HD. To back up in RAID 0, should I create an image of just one of the drives or is there a special way to back up a RAID 0 configuration?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    The RAID 0 array should show as a single drive. You just back it up and restore it the same as a single drive.

    You'll need to make sure the rescue cd recognizes you RAID controller. Otherwise you will need to create a BartPE cd that contains the drivers or contact Acronis Support and have them send you a custom build.
     
  3. bobengel

    bobengel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Thanks, MudCrab. That helps. I don't see anything in the latest User's Guide that mentions Vista compatibility so I hope any updates to version 10 will work with it.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello bobengel,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    I would like to confirm MudCrab response and let you know that Acronis True Image 10.0 Home supports Windows Vista and RAID configurations (including RAID 0) even while booted from Bootable Rescue media.

    When Acronis True Image is running under Windows, it works with all the hard disk drivers detected by the operating system. If Acronis True Image is running in rescue mode (e.g. to restore the system partition), then it provides support for all hardware RAID controllers.

    We would recommend that you make sure you use the latest build (4942) of Acronis True Image 10.0 Home. You can find build number in the Help -> About dialog. To get access to updates you should first register your software.

    Please create a new Acronis True Image Bootable Rescue Media using the latest build (check chapter 10 "Creating Bootable Media" in the Acronis True Image User Guide), boot your computer from it and test its functionality.

    Should you experience a problem with your RAID controller when accessing from rescue mode, please create Acronis Report, Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post and provide the exact vendor and model of the RAID controller you use. Then submit a request for technical support with the above information attached and we will help you solve the problem.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.