Imaging from DOS boot CD is safer?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by TimDVD, Jul 25, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TimDVD

    TimDVD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Hi,
    regarding to imaging software i´m a newbee, from Brazil...
    After some research I´d just ordered ATI 8 and now I´m here, mostly because os the RADIFIED ghost pages many read.

    So, is it true that imaging from DOS is far more secure than within WINDOWS XP, since it will be a LIVE operation?
     
  2. richrf

    richrf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,907
    Hi TimDVD,

    I decided to do an image from DOS in order to guarantee that there will be no issues that may occur during a Windows image copy. When I was doing my own research, I received conflicting advice, so I decided to play it safe. Eventually, I chose Image for Dos from Terabytes Unlimited. It is working very well for me. Extremely reliable.

    Hope this helps,
    Rich
     
  3. TimDVD

    TimDVD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Hi,
    Tks for your kind reply.

    Let´s hope that more users can add something to this subject... :cool:
     
  4. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Tim,

    When you say "imaging from DOS" do you in fact mean imaging after booting from the Acronis bootable rescue CD? If that's the case then be aware that the "Full" rescue CD is Linux based, not DOS.

    Some users do prefer to image from the boot rescue CD as they feel there is less chance of a program conflict. However, I normally image from within Windows mode and, so far, have never had a failure (boy, is that tempting fate or what!!).

    If your interested in finding out how TI carries out "live" imaging, have a read of this <Acronis article>.

    Regards
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2005
  5. Jbmoar

    Jbmoar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Posts:
    112
    Location:
    San Jose,Costa Rica
    Some Users Say It Doesn't Make A Diference Whether You Use The Rescue Boot CD (Linux Based) Or Windows But For Myself I Prefer Using The Rescue CD To Make Backups And Restores,Works Perfect Everytime, I Have Already Done More Than 5 Restores Using The Acronis True Image 8 (Build 903) Rescue CD ... Even Though They Say Windows Is Also Ok For Backups,I Just Want to Be 100% Sure So I Chose The CD Route But Is What Your Own Preference Is Though,The Rescue CD Can Do Anything The Windows Version Of True Image Can Except Scheduling True Image To Do Automatic Backups And it can't mount and explore an image either.

    Note: Correction Made As Noted By Menorcaman
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2005
  6. howie123

    howie123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Posts:
    48
    I have created literally hundreds of full and incremental images over the past few years using TI while in Windows and have yet to have an issue and that includes dozens of full system restores. I doubt Acronis would provide this feature if it was a "hit or miss" proposal and wasn't 100% reliable. If imaging from the boot CD makes you feel "safer", though, then by all means do it that way... :)
     
  7. rharris270

    rharris270 Guest

    Unlike GHOST version 2003, which I never did get to do a backup from the windows level on my PC, True Image has never had no problem making a backup from the windows level. I normally use True Image bootable CD only to perform a restore of the partition containing the operating system, which I have does on several occassions. However, I have tested the bootable CD, and it also make good images.
     
  8. TimDVD

    TimDVD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Posts:
    3
     
  9. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi jbmoar,

    For completeness - it can't mount and explore an image either.

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.