Imaging a drive with issues

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by HAN, Jun 29, 2015.

  1. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    I have a drive that SMART shows as "[C6] Off-Line Uncorrectable Sector Count: 199/Always OK, Worst: 199 (Data = 94)"

    Can I image it without issues? Even if the imaging program pauses and barks about a sector it sees an error on? Is there any imaging program that specializes in this type of situation? I really, really do not want to install everything again on this drive. It is highly customized.
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    HAN,

    Does chkdsk /f report any bad sectors?
     
  3. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    No, but I did run regular Check Disc. It listed 12 KB in bad sectors. I ran 2 disc health programs that read SMART info and they both have the message in my first post.

    The PC runs normally for days and then out of the blue, it will freeze. I should have suspected it sooner but hind sight is 20/20.

    Dell is going to replace the drive but as I noted, it is highly tweaked for several programs. Setting it up again would be painful!
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    You should be OK. I've copied partitions (or image/restore) with many more than 12 kb of bad sectors and haven't noted any issues. I suggest you create an image and then try chkdsk /r from an Admin Command Prompt to see if the sectors can be repaired. Then create another image.
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2015
  5. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the replies. The replacement drive arrives in a day or so. I'll know where I stand soon... o_O
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    HAN, I'm interested to hear what you do. I assume the OS is Win8.1, UEFI mode.
     
  7. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    No, it's Win 7 Pro, MBR.
     
  8. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,517
    Apparently your Drive is dying. If I were in your situation, I'd follow Brian's advice to do a disk image right now, and one more after trying to correct the bad sector. That is, I assume you have a spare drive laying around.

    If you wait, the situation might get worse. Bad sectors could spread.
     
  9. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    As far as I can tell, the drive will be here on Wednesday (tomorrow.) I have made an image with IFL. I will kick off a repair suing CHKDSK this afternoon and we'll see what happens.
     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Another incorrect assumption of mine.

    Did you do an Entire Drive image with IFL? They are the easiest solution when restoring to a new HD.
     
  11. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    I agree that was/is the best thing to try. The CHKDSK repair is running now. It will be sometime overnight before it can finish. So tomorrow morning, we'll see how it looks. The new drive should arrive tomorrow too.
     
  12. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    chkdsk /r did not help. PC wouldn't boot. So my only option for an image is the first one I have.

    New drive came today. Imaged the factory setup that came on the new drive in case I need it. Then restored my original image. New drive booted. Ran a standard chkdsk. Confusingly, it shows 12KB in bad sectors (like the bad HDD). But SMART says the disc is ok. Ran sfc /scannow. It shows some corrupted files that can't be fixed. But it seems to run ok.

    So... Is there anything else I can do to minimize any further issues? My thoughts are to run and see what happens.

    Last thought. I read around the net that an image doesn't transfer bad sectors. But this situation seems to indicate it can/does. Thoughts??
     
  13. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    A bad sector is a hardware issue, and it can not possibly be transferred to the new drive. However, if you had data in the bad sectors that was not recovered by chkdsk, then that data will be missing on the new hard drive, and the files corresponding to the bad sectors will be corrupted.

    I would just run chkdsk on the new drive from within windows with the "automatically fix file system" and "scan for and attempt recovery of bad sectors" options checked. It will correct the anomaly you are describing, which probably is just the attributes from the previous hard drive transferred to the new drive and not actual bad sectors on the new drive.
     
  14. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    341
    I had a similar situation some time ago. After restoring a full sector by sector image to a new HDD and restoring some damaged files separately from an older file based backup, CHKDSK would still report some bad sectors which were obviously part of the image backup. The only method I found (after a lot of research) was using a tool called 'DFSee'.

    http://imgur.com/0a0a78w


    Cheers
    manolito
     
  15. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,517
    In this case, a fresh installation of your OS and applications is the best option. Other method MAY work, but who knows you'll encounter what problems later on. I'd format the new drive and start from scratch. This way I know my OS will be fine, so no headache in the future.
     
  16. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,248
    There should be absolutely no need to do a clean install of Windows. I've cloned hard drives before that would not boot due to errors, and after cloning the drives and running chkdsk on the new drive, the new drive has booted and run Windows without any issues.
     
  17. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,517
    I believe in your story. However, your case does not mean the OP's case will also result in a 100% working OS. He already found corrupted files in 12k sectors. So having problems is sooner or later.
     
  18. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    HAN, as you and others suspect there are no bad sectors on the new HD. The bad sectors table has been restored from the previous system. This is standard. Run chkdsk /b and the table will be reset. The "bad sectors" will be gone.

    https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc730714.aspx
     
  19. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,522
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Good information in this thread. Thanks all.
     
  20. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    A big thanks to all that contributed! I certainly learned some valuable information. :D

    I ran the chkdsk /b routine and it indeed has cleared the Bad Sectors count. So, I'm good there now. :thumb:

    oliverjia points out that I should start over for the best results. I absolutely agree but as I noted initially, this PC is tweaked to an extreme. If any of errors I've ran across ever do cause a problem that can't be dealt with, I can always go back to square one at that point.

    In the FWIW category, Dell wants the old drive back so I am DBAN'ing now and it will go out soon.

    But for now, I'm back in business!!
     
Loading...