Imagined Bad Sector?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by gmccann, Dec 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gmccann

    gmccann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    I am new to this forum so apologise if I am going about this incorrectly.

    I have moved from Ghost to Acronis 10 and find that every full or differential backup halted by the error message that it cannot read at a point (always 140843375). I can click on Skip and the backup continues ending with "Back up completed successfully". I back up from my C drive to a Maxtor external drive. My operating system is WinXP SP2 Home.

    I have been backing up the drive in question (C Drive) in Ghost for at least a year with no complaint or identification of what may be identified by Acronis as a bad sector.

    I have run all four stages of Chkdsk (Phase 4 is the surface check) and Tweak XP Pro to try and find a bad sector but nothing is found.

    Since I cannot identify the problem and therefore have no choice but to assume the sector can be skipped, I would like to be able to find a setting, like Ghost has, of ignoring a bad sector if you want to and so let the backup complete without the freeze up while I manually skip the identified sector/file or whatever. As it is I must monitor every scheduled to select the Skip, so cannot have the program backup in the background.

    Would really appeciate any advice.

    Graham
     
  2. gmccann

    gmccann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    After much chasing around for effective software I did uncover a bad sector which, when fixed, has overcome the stall during backup.

    Graham
     
  3. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    So far, True Image is a pretty good imaging program but an excellent memory tester and now, disk structure tester.:D :D :D

    What program or method found and fixed the bad sector?
     
  4. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    Since you are running Win XP SP2 and if you ran 'chkdsk' with the /r switch (the /f switch is implied), there should have been five phases or steps. Glad to hear that you solved the matter.

    As seekforever asked it would be helpful to know what application or utility you used that was successful.

    Regards,
    Bruce
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Regarding Bad Sectors, could I describe my friend's problem laptop. His WinXP was "flaky". Running chkdsk /f /r a few times fixed many file errors but he was left with around 100 bad sectors. He created an image and restored this image to a new HD. The new HD seems fine but chkdsk reports around 100 bad sectors.

    Does this mean his new HD is suspect or are we seeing "software" bad sectors that have been copied from the original OS?
     
  6. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I believe so. There was a bit of discussion about this previously and IIRC the solution is to do a "resize" of the partition when the image is restored to the new drive.

    You might try a search of the forum and see if you can find the threads but I must admit I have trouble doing elegant searches on this forum. Hopefully, somebody else will add their comments.
     
  7. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Brian,

    I'm afraid it's a case of GIGO. As stated by seekforever, you will need to resize your partitions whilst carrying out an image restore.

    Here is <one of the more recent replies on the subject from Acronis Support>.

    Regards
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Menorcaman, thanks for those links. Inadvertently he did the resizing procedure. The old HD was 20 GB and the new was 80 GB. Before restoring, partitions were created and the new C: drive is double the size of the old.

    I'll advise him to keep an eye on the number of bad sectors in case it is a HD problem but hopefully it's just bad data that has been imaged.
     
  9. jjbtnc

    jjbtnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Posts:
    57
    I'd be pretty interested in what software was used to recover the bad sector as well. As far as i know windows can't retest a bad sector so the only way of recovering them is by formatting, using a disk manufacturers tools, dos utility that is destructive - if there's a way out there that isn't destructive that would be handy!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.