Imagefile corrupt?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by rensovonk, Mar 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rensovonk

    rensovonk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    I am using TrueImage version 8 buil 937 on XP SP2
    After creating a image to the other partiton of my hard disk, I get a Imagefile corrupt message when I choose verify.
    Same procedure on my external USB disk works fine.
    Any suggestions?
    Rensoo_O
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    If XP, run chkdsk X: /r on the partition you are storing the image on. X represents the actual drive letter for the partition.

    Good idea to run it on all your partitions from time to time, particularly if you are having problems.
     
  3. rensovonk

    rensovonk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for your reply.
    chkdsk e: /r showed no problems!
    An interesting thing is that explore Image works fine with the "corrupted: image.
    So I am lost...
     
  4. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello rensovonk,

    Boot from the Acronis rescue CD and try verifying the image on your E: partition again.

    Regards
     
  5. DivideBy0

    DivideBy0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Rensovonk:

    Check out this article from PcWorld: http://www.pcworld.com/howto/article/0,aid,124161,00.asp

    It contains information that may help you.

    All I can say is that I too had a similar problem with an image using version 9. I then booted from my Acronis Rescue CD and tried to perform the restore (*without* verifying first - I had verified it after creation and it reported it good. I just went for broke!)

    The restore went perfectly and the entire partition restored correctly. This is an error message "error" - again see link above.

    Good luck.

    Ed
     
  6. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    The PC World article is referring to mis-reporting errors that existed in versions prior to 2323. It says "at press-time the current version is 2323". I'm not saying this couldn't be the problem but this was supposedly addressed prior to the current build of 2337.
     
  7. rensovonk

    rensovonk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    I did a image verification on my partition using the recovery CD: Image OK!
    So it looks like a bug in Acronis 8.0 as mentioned earlier.
    By the way: the same happened with Norton Ghost.
    But my problem is solved!
    Thanks for your advises

    Renso
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.