Image with or without pagefile?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Tommy, Aug 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    I am tryiling ATI and have a simple question.
    Is it nececarry for a later restore of particion C:\ that the pagefile.sys is also be backuped into the image?
     
  2. Dina

    Dina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    107
    I dont think the pagefile is included every time you create an image. It wouldnt be necessary too.
     
  3. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    I just hace done a first full image, and pagefile.sys is integratet with about 600 MB. So i can set the pagefile on the exclude list, even for the first full image?

    One more question. 'TrueImageMonitor.exe' and 'TimounterMonitor.exe' must run in the background, or can they be disabled?
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2006
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    this isnt an official answer per se, but HTH.
     
  5. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    Ok, thats understandable, but why than putting a placeholder of 600 MB into the image. As Windows wrights it new after the reboot, a 1MB pagefile in the image would do the same efect, no?
     
  6. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    ive never tried exploring the image for the pagefile, but my pagefile is 1 gig and my images are less than that (OS only).

    also i skipped ur second question about the startup entries. heres one thread (short) and another (longer)
     
  7. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Tommy,

    Some people choose not to let Windows automatically manage the size of the Pagefile but instead will set it to a fixed size. In this case, my guess is that Windows would choke if TI created a new Pagefile based on a "placeholder" size that was different to that which was set up originally.

    TI has to cater for both situations, hence the reason I believe the "placeholder" will always represent (note I said "represent", not "be equal to") the size of the Pagefile at the time the snapshot of the image was created.

    If the above assumption is wrong then I stand redfaced and corrected :p.

    Regards
     
  8. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    Good explanation, logical reason but IFD/IFW don't backup the pagefile and hypernate file, so i think it can be skipped.
     
  9. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Not having a Pagefile is different to recreating one that's the wrong size. If it doesn't find one then I believe Windows will just recreate a new one. So why doesn't TI just ignore the Pagefile altogether? Probably because it needs to ascertain whether there is sufficient room on the destination drive (could be a smaller drive) for the restored data plus the Pagefile.

    Regards
     
  10. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    In this case i agree with you, but as i only use it on my Laptop and there will be no changes on partition size, not a lot more application (i install only what i need on the laptop) etc. i will skip it, also for space reasons on the second partition.
     
  11. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954

    I wonder if Windows would indeed recreate a missing pagefile without complaining.

    I remember the time when I went to change the drive letter of my second internal drive which holds the pagefile. (I wanted to free the letter D: to assign it to the new partion I was about to add to the system drive). Disk Management didn't let me do the letter change due to the presence of the pagefile, it said. I was forced to temporarily create a pagefile on the system drive, remove the original pagefile from the slave's partition, rename the slave's partition, recreate the pagefile on the slave's partition and finally remove (optionally) the pagefile temporarily created on C:.

    It's interesting: all other reference to the drive which changes the letter is updated without problem.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2006
  12. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    It is my understanding that the pagefiles are not backed up, rather a fakey placeholder is used for each pagefile.

    This allows TI to restore a drive with the proper size pagefile.
     
  13. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    o_O. See Post #4 above.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.