"image is already mounted" but i cant see it.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by storyteller, Feb 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. storyteller

    storyteller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    hi folks,
    i got a problem with "acronis true image home 2009"
    i mounted my backup and removed the external hdd without unmount it.

    after an hour i connected the hdd with my computer again.
    i tried to mount the image again, but acronis told me, that the image is already mounted.

    but i cant see the mounted device.
    i already tried to unmount the backup in the programm, but there is no entry for my backup.

    does anyone know, how i can mount my backup again to see it in the explorer as a drive?


    thanks in advance..

    sincerly..
     
  2. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    You might try re-booting the PC and then try again.
     
  3. storyteller

    storyteller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks for your answer.
    I already did it. I just forgot to mention it. Any other ideas?
     
  4. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    The only other thing I can think of is to open My Computer and see if there is a drive letter assigned that contains the mounted image. If it's there right-click on it and select unmount. I suspect that it won't be there however.
     
  5. storyteller

    storyteller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    I've already looked in "My Computer" and there is no mounted drive.
    I just can see my external hdd. I can rightclick, but there is no entry to unmount it.
    Even the icon for the external drive is the same like drive c:.
    the mounted drives got another icon...


    any other ideas? :(
     
  6. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    That's about all I can think of. Something is definitely not right.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. storyteller

    storyteller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    yes, and this is my problem. i cant see the "mounted" drive.
    when i open the external hdd, where my backup is stored, i cant rightklick on the *.tib and unmount it. there is just the option to mount it. when i try to mount it... i get the msg, that i've already mounted it.


    hmmm.. i dont know what to do now. :(

    i dont want to re-install TI. :(
     
  8. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    What software version and build of True Image are you using? What is your operating system?

    Some things you might try:

    1. Validate your existing image (.tib) file.
    2. Create a new image with a different name and validate it. See if you can mount and unmount it. If successful it will rule out operating system corruption.
    3. If the new image is successful you can delete the previous .tib file.

    Leave your external drive connected.
     
  9. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Here are my suggestions.

    Open Windows Disk Management and look to see if it might be awaiting a drive letter assignment.
    If that is not the problem, then proceed as below:

    A. Disconnect your external drive --if connected
    B. Create a new system restore checkpoint.

    There is no risk to what follows. The changes you will be making affects the registry which can be reversed by restoring your newly created check point.

    1. Open the Device Manager.
    2. Under the view tab at top menu, Click on "Show Hidden Devices" so more information is displayed. Having hidden devices visible provides more detail and must be checked anytime you wish to use this option.

    3. Click the + sign for "harddrives" to display all listings under hard drives
    Note that some listing/icons are darker than others. The dark gray is active. The greyed out is inactive.
    4. Inside the harddrives listing:
    a. Right click on each listing for Acronis Virtual Drive and choose the uninstall option for as many as listed.
    b. Also uninstall any of the others which are greyed out (do not uninstall the dard gray listings).

    5. Next, click the + sign for "storage volumes" to display all listings under storage volumes. Again, notice the difference in icon color. Right click on each inactive greyed out listing and uninstall all of this greyed out color.

    6. Next, click the + sign for "Universal Serial Bus Controllers" to display all listings under this section. Again, notice the difference in icon color. Right click on each inactive greyed out listing and uninstall all of this greyed out color. Exception: do not uninstall the USB Printing support listing.

    7. Close the device manager. Reboot.

    8. No devices should now be mounted. New archives should be able to be mounted.
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.