Image for Windows WinRE launcher

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by DaRulz, Nov 9, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DaRulz

    DaRulz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Posts:
    6
    Hey all,

    I have problem starting IFW from boot media. I built WinRE using both CD and usb drive and it boots up fine, but after that, when I click "Image for Windows" from the TBLauncher menu it doesn't load up. I used this guide: http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/howto/tbwinre_tutorial.htm

    Installed IFW version 2.76


    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Are you double-clicking IFW, clicking the Launch program button, or selecting IFW and pressing ENTER?

    Do any of the other programs start? Can you start the Command Prompt? If so, will IFW run from there (run imagew)?
     
  3. DaRulz

    DaRulz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Posts:
    6
    Actually I tried everything and IFW did not run. Other options are running with no problem (TBI Mount, Note pad, CMD). By the way, I tried the (run imagew) as you suggested and nothing happened.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Have you checked the Task Manager to see if imagew.exe is running and the GUI just isn't showing?

    Does imagew.exe exist in the X:\Program Files\TeraByte Unlimited\Image for Windows\V2 folder?

    Does it run if you use a Command Prompt, change to the folder above, and try it? Is an error message displayed?

    What version of IFW do you have installed?

    What version of Windows are you running? Windows 7 x64?
     
  5. DaRulz

    DaRulz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Posts:
    6

    I have IFW 2.76 on Windows 7 x64. I just checked the program directory and Yes, there is imagew.exe and imagew64.exe.
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    There should not be both imagew.exe and imagew64.exe. The script should have renamed imagew64.exe to imagew.exe. Try running imagew64.exe. (You are looking in the booted TBWinRE, right?)
     
  7. DaRulz

    DaRulz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Posts:
    6

    I'm sorry I checked while in normal mode. Anyways, I tried in the booted mode and when I click IFW, the image.exe appears in the task manager and disappears right away
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    What's the file size for imagew.exe?
     
  9. DaRulz

    DaRulz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Posts:
    6

    It's 1.80 MB
     
  10. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You checked in TBWinRE? If so, that would be the x86 version, which won't run in x64.
     
  11. DaRulz

    DaRulz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Posts:
    6

    So how can I fix that?. Thanks
     
  12. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I would check that the x64 version installed in Windows 7 is correct (imagew64.exe should be around 2.9MB). Since all the other programs are running correctly, I think the script is working okay.

    It's getting late for me. I'll check back in the morning.
     
  13. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,566
    Open/mount your modified "winre.wim" with the "DISM GUI" and replace the imagew.exe with the 64bit version.

    Panagiotis
     
  14. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    That should work, but it's still odd that it's not getting into the build correctly in the first place.
     
  15. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,566
    Not really. I have seen the specific script misbehave.
    On my netbook I had winre.wim in the recovery partition (400mb) and the script could not load the wim.
    When I mounted the partition with diskpart, it would work but could not create an iso (limited space).
    I had to transfer the recovery with "Reagentc" to my system partition to make it work and there when it mounted the wim, it unmounted my D: partition. :ouch:

    Also, another thing. The 64 version of IFW is very sensitive to the key used. If you use a not so legitimate key it simply crashes and in the PE enviroment appears as not loading. I'm not implying anything here... since it happens with illegitimate keys I do not exclude that could happen with some legitimate keys too.

    Panagiotis
     
  16. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    An updated version should be available soon and it handles that situation much better.

    The file size for the x64 version is usually larger than the x86 version. The size reported looked like the x86 size to me. I have 1.8MB x86 and 2.9MB x64.

    I wasn't aware of the x64 key issue -- never had any problems with either x86 or x64, though my keys are for sure valid.
     
  17. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,566
    Thankfully, neither have I.
    By the way, do you know when it will be released? (the next update should implement a change in the behavior of IFD, that I asked, with the bios/bios direct so that will skip this step if it finds the setting in the ini)

    Panagiotis
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2012
  18. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Very soon, I think.
     
  19. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,566
    Thanks!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.